Chattanooga growth plan draws spirited banter

WHAT'S NEXTThe winning planning team is expected to be selected before year's end, with the initiative to begin early in 2012.REGIONAL FOOTPRINTCounties in the planning study:• Tennessee: Hamilton, Bradley, Polk, McMinn, Meigs, Rhea, Bledsoe, Sequatchie, Marion• Georgia: Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Murray• Alabama: Jackson, DeKalbOVERSIGHT TASK FORCECorinne Allen, Benwood Foundation president; Brian Anderson, Dalton-Whitfield Chamber of Commerce CEO; Mike Babb, Whitfield County board of commissioners chairman; Bruz Clark, Lyndhurst Foundation president; Pete Cooper, Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga president; Jim Coppinger, Hamilton County mayor; D. Gary Davis, Bradley County mayor; Gary Farlow, Cleveland/Bradley Chamber of Commerce CEO; Ron Harr, immediate past Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce chairman; Beth Jones, Southeast Tennessee Development District executive director; Ron Littlefield, Chattanooga mayor; Tom McCallie, Maclellan Family Foundations representative; Tom Edd Wilson, Chattanooga Chamber CEO

Planners and the public engaged in a spirited, sometimes testy debate Thursday over the 16-county, long-range growth planning effort.