SEC announces bowl tie-ins for 2014

photo Mike Slive

The Southeastern Conference on Monday announced several agreements with bowl games beginning in 2014, the first season of college football's four-team playoff.

Under the future system, SEC teams will continue to compete in the Sugar Bowl and, in select seasons, the Orange Bowl.

The Capital One Bowl, which has been tied in with the SEC since the 1992 season, will have the next selection of league teams that do not qualify for the four-team playoff, the Sugar Bowl or the Orange Bowl.

"We are pleased to have established a lineup of premier bowl games that will give our student-athletes a wonderful postseason experience and our fans the opportunity to travel to venues in the geographical footprint of the conference," SEC commissioner Mike Slive said.

After the Capital One Bowl, there will be a pool of six bowls comprised of renewals with the Outback, Gator, Music City and Liberty as well as new pacts with the Belk Bowl in Charlotte and the Texas Bowl in Houston.

The conference office, after consulting with its member institutions, will assign the teams for these six bowls.

At the bottom of the pecking order will be the BBVA Compass Bowl in Birmingham and the Advocare V100 Bowl in Shreveport, La., with the BBVA Compass getting the first pick of those two provided there are that many bowl-eligible SEC teams.

"This bowl process gives us the best opportunity to address several issues that impact SEC fans," Slive said, "including the creation of intriguing matchups, the accommodation of travel for fans, reduced ticket obligations for our schools and a variety of assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations."

Contact David Paschall at or 423-757-6524.

Upcoming Events