If bill passes, it's Daylight Saving Time in Tennessee ... permanently

If bill passes, it's Daylight Saving Time in Tennessee ... permanently

January 29th, 2018 by Staff Report in Breaking News

State Rep. Rick Tillis, whose district includes parts of Marion and Franklin counties, has introduced a bill to make Daylight Saving Time permanent in Tennessee.

"I believe a switch to year-round Daylight Saving Time will have a remarkable impact on our state," Tillis said in a news release Monday. "The extra hour of daylight should enhance the health and overall quality of life of our residents by encouraging them to become more active, and also spend extra time supporting our local businesses."

The release said Daylight Saving Time was adopted to save energy early in the 1900s. More daylight means less need for electric light in the evening, and there's an economic benefit because people would spend more time away from their homes and out supporting their local economies.

Tillis, R-Lewisburg, said he introduced the bill based on survey responses from residents of District 92. Area co-sponsors include Dan Howell, R-Cleveland; Cameron Sexton, R-Crossville, Mike Carter, R-Ooltwah and Patsy Hazlewood, R-Signal Mountain. The companion Senate bill is sponsored by Sen. Steve Dickerson, R-Nashville.

If the measure becomes law, Tennessee would remain on Daylight Saving Time throughout the year. Hawaii and Arizona are also currently on a standard year-round time.

District 92 includes Marshall County, as well as parts of Franklin, Lincoln and Marion counties.