Nominations sought for local 'Champions of Health Care'

Nominations sought for local 'Champions of Health Care'

April 9th, 2017 by Staff Report in Business Around the Region

Staff Photo by Dan Henry / The Chattanooga Times Free Press- 9/21/16. Walter Puckett, M.D., accepts the Health Care Volunteer award during the Champions of Healthcare Awards Luncheon presented by the Chattanooga Times Free Press on Wednesday, September 21, 2016.

Photo by Dan Henry /Times Free Press.

More Info

To fine out more about the Champions of Health Care go to

The Chattanooga Times Free Press and Edge Magazine, in partnership with the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Medical Society, will again honor individuals who are making a significant impact on the quality of health in the Chattanooga area at the second annual "Champions of Health Care" awards program in September.

Nominations are being sought through May 19 for outstanding persons or organizations in seven health care categories. Winners will be selected by a panel of judges in leadership roles in the local health care industry. One winner in each category will be announced at an awards luncheon on Thursday, Sept. 21, and profiled in the September issue of Edge magazine.

"Champions of Health Care truly recognizes individuals that are making an impact," said Bruce Hartmann, president of the Chattanooga Times Free Press. "It helps to increase awareness of the quality of health care in our community and gives us all a chance to celebrate those in the medical field who are dedicated to advancing the quality of life. "

In its inaugural year last fall, Champions of Health Care recognized Dr. Jackson Yium and Dr. Michael Carr with Lifetime Achievement awards, Dr. Mack Worthington and Dr. Coleman Arnold with physician awards, Tennessee Interventional and Imaging Associates with the Innovation in Health Care award, Project Access with the top Community Outreach award, Dr. Walter Puckett as the top Health Care Volunteer winner, Martha Weeks with the Administrative Excellence award, and Charlotte Smalley with the Nonphysician Practitioner award.

Any individual may nominate a person or organization at for the following awards:

  •  Lifetime Achievement: Honors a health care leader who has left a legacy on the quality and delivery of health care.
  •  Community Outreach: Honors a company or organization that reached out of its normal sphere of operation to focus attention on a health care issue or help solve a community problem.
  •  Innovation in Health Care: Honors a company or individual primarily responsible for a scientific discovery or new process, device or service that can save lives or improve the quality of lives.
  •  Physician: Honors a physician whose performance is considered exemplary by patients and peers.
  •  Nonphysician Practitioner: Honors a health care provider other than a doctor (nurse, pharmacist, physicians' assistant, researcher, technician, etc.) whose performance is considered exemplary by patients and peers.
  •  Administrative Excellence: Honors a health care administrator whose performance, care and leadership are considered exemplary by patients and peers.
  •  Health Care Volunteer: Honors a volunteer in the community who has demonstrated commitment and passion for serving those in need.

Champions of Health Care is presented by BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee and sponsored by First Tennessee Bank and LBMC.