ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
some text
Staff photo by Troy Stolt / Adam Gutzman, center, poses for a portrait with his sons Brant, left, and Levi, right at Stringers Ridge Park on Wednesday, June 2, 2021, in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Editor's note: In keeping with our theme of social media this year, we asked each of "the 20" to submit personally curated photographs and answer questions that offer a sneak peek into their private, as well as professional, life. We also had them choose a location for their lead photo that ties into who they are.

 

ADAM GUTZMAN

First Horizon vice president of business banking; First Horizon Elite Circle Member (2020); Diamond Circle Member (2017, 2018, 2020)

Age: 37

Photo Gallery

20 Under 40: Adam Gutzman

 

* Facebook or Instagram?

Instagram for me. I got rid of FB awhile back. May need to go back to it at some point, but I could never get my feed to work like I wanted.

* What would your personal hashtag be?

#justbeyou

* Most-used emoji?

Smiley face.

* What would you list as your top 3 likes? And, dislikes?

Likes: Mountain biking, nature, bluegrass. Dislikes: Shopping, traffic/long lines, being late.

* How old were you when you got your first cellphone?

I remember having to borrow my mom's cellphone for awhile when I would go places. It became rather embarrassing, so I bought my first flip phone somewhere between (ages) 17-18.

* Piece of tech you couldn't live without (or wouldn't want to)?

Unfortunately, my cellphone. I do enjoy getting away from it, though.

* Social media — love it or hate it?

I personally don't like to use it, but I know it's a good way to share pictures with friends and family.

* What was your last post (about)?

I posted a picture of my youngest son turning a water gun against me. I had just bought them for everyone.

* What do you consider your biggest accomplishment?

Nothing compares to convincing my wife to marry me. She played hard to get for a couple of years. We did end up with a double rainbow for our wedding day, which was really cool.

* What is the biggest challenge or hardship you have overcome?

I started going bald at 17, so at that time it was rather difficult. I would always wear a hat, and was very concerned about my growing hairline. I played soccer in college, so at away-games it was pretty obvious about 15 minutes into the game. I remember getting heckled by the opposing teams. Some were pretty funny. I guess I had to learn early on to not take myself and life so serious.

* What kind of influencer would you be?

I post most about my kids and places I've traveled. I really like to explore places, so I would make a good nature explorer.

* Any goals for this year?

I set a goal to read more and be more active.

* What's one thing you would change about Chattanooga and why?

I personally would like a sand volleyball court near downtown. In my hometown we had lighted courts that were always busy. I always enjoyed playing. I think it would be a popular addition to Chattanooga.

* Why did you choose this location for your shoot?

I ride (my bike) here a lot due to the proximity to where we live and work. Our family likes to ride and Chattanooga is a great place for riding.

* Tell me about one of your favorite memories.

In college, I went on an educational 24-day trip to South Africa. It was with 5-6 of my good friends. We traveled and camped all around South Africa, which was really cool. It was an incredible trip that will be hard to ever top.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT