Charlie Wilson added to Riverbend lineup

Charlie Wilson added to Riverbend lineup

March 20th, 2012 by Barry Courter in Life Entertainment

Charlie Wilson, the man who Snoop Dog calls Uncle Charlie, and the voice behind many of the Gap Band's hits, will headline the Riverbend Festival on June 14 on the Coca-Cola Stage, according to Joe "Dixie" Fuller, talent and production coordinator.

Also announced is soul singer Avery Sunshine, who will play June 8 on the Unum Stage, and BoomBox, an electronica act that will play the Unum Stage on June 16.

Since embarking on a solo career a decade or so ago, Wilson has earned five Grammy nominations, a Soul Train Icon Award and an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Male Artist.

His song "There Goes My Baby" was the No. 1 Urban Adult Song of 2009 and "You Are" was No. 2 in 2011 according to Billboard.

He has collaborated with such hip-hop artists as Kanye West, R. Kelly, Jamie Foxx, T-Pain and Justin Timberlake.

Before his solo career, Charlie, along with brothers Ronnie and Robert, were part of the Gap Band, which produced such funk hits as "Burn Rubber on Me," "Oops Upside Your Head" and "You Dropped A Bomb on Me."

"He always was the one to watch, and he is so entertaining," Fuller said. "It truly is a fun show."

Fuller said Wilson brings a large stage show with horns, dancers and band.

Sunshine currently calls Atlanta home. Her voice can be heard on the "The Fighting Temptations" soundtrack and she has also worked on several Tyler Perry projects. She was the choral director for the theatrical production of "Dreamgirls."

BoomBox features Russ Randolph and Zion Rock Godchaux, two longtime friends who create a blend of rock and blues dance music.

"They will play on fireworks night and will start at dark and play until whenever," said Jeff Styles, assistant talent and production coordinator.

Previously announced Riverbend acts include Foreigner, Lauren Alaina, The Band Perry, The Happy Together Tour featuring Micky Dolenz of The Monkees, The Turtles featuring Flo and Eddie, The Grass Roots, The Buckinghams and Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, Gov't Mule, Eric Church and Foghat.

The festival is scheduled for June 8-16.