some text
Lee University Vice President for Enrollment Phil Cook, left, with Rymer Scholars Hanna Blessing, Alexandra Hutt, Jordan Glover, Kyle Davidson, Hannah Long, Clay Parris, Kelsey Wofford, Devin Kersey and Caitlin Tharp, from left.

Rymer Scholars announced

Devin Kersey, Caitlin Tharp and Kelsey Wofford were named Gold winners of Lee University's 2013 Rymer Scholarship awards.

Three Gold Scholars, three Silver and three Bronze are awarded annually by the Rymer Foundation, established by Hoyle Rymer and his father, the late Robert Rymer, to encourage high school seniors to continue their education in Cleveland, Tenn. The monetary awards are dispersed to the winners over a period of four years.

Gold Scholars will each receive a scholarship of $10,000.

The Silver Scholarship winners are Kyle Davidson, Hannah Long and Clay Parris. They will each receive a scholarship of $5,000.

Bronze Scholars will receive a scholarship of $2,000. They are Hanna Blessing, Jordan Glover and Alexandra Hutt.

Newton receives scholarship

some text
At the Executive Women International scholarship presentation are, from left, Elaine Swafford, director, Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy; Kristina Smith, First Tennessee Bank; Delores Lewis, United Way of Greater Chattanooga; Kaitlin Newton, recipient; Nancy Harrison, Spicer Rudstrom, PLLC; Jennifer Fox, CGLA; Ani Yacoubian, Yacoubian Tailors.

Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy graduate Kaitlin Newton has received a $1,000 scholarship from the Chattanooga chapter of Executive Women International. Newton will attend Chattanooga State Community College this fall.

Since chartering in 1987, EWI of Chattanooga has contributed more than $170,000 in scholarships at area schools. This is the first time a high school student has been a recipient; traditionally, the scholarships are awarded to women already attending college.

More national awards for CCA

Chattanooga Center for Creative Arts has received the Arts Integration Award from Arts Schools Network, the nation's largest professional membership organization of specialized arts schools.

Additionally, the network named CCA Principal Deborah Smith the recipient of its Jeffrey Lawrence Award. The award recognizes the head of a network school who "exemplifies uncompromising commitment to excellence in arts education and arts training."

The Arts Integration Award is presented to a member school that has demonstrated "exceptional leadership and accomplishment in bringing arts integration strategies into the curriculum."

This is the second national award the performing arts magnet school has received this month. On May 7, the school received the Outstanding Secondary Magnet School, designating it as the top magnet high school in the country, from Magnet Schools of America.

Principal Smith will accept both awards during the Arts Schools Network's annual conference in October at New York University's Tisch School of the Arts.

Lee professor has book published

Jerald Daffe's book, "Crosses, Coffee, Couches, and Community," has been released by Pathway Press. Subtitled "Modern Ministry in an Emerging Culture," it reviews changes in American culture and the challenges to ministering to a generation that has lost interest in the institutional church.

Daffe joined Lee's School of Religion in 1987. In addition to teaching, he serves as coordinator for the pastoral ministries major. He was a recipient of the Excellence in Teaching Award at Lee in 1990 and the Excellence in Advising in 1999.