some text
People vote at Burk's United Methodist Church in Hixson.

Twenty-seven candidates qualified Thursday in a city election that may see more competition for City Council seats than the mayor's office.

Three people qualified for the mayoral race -- former state Sen. Andy Berke, perennial candidate Chester Heathington Jr. and former city employee Guy Satterfield. Former East Ridge Manager and Red Bank Public Works Commissioner Wayne Hamill expressed interest in running last week but did not qualify.

Another potential mayoral candidate, businessman and former Parks and Recreation Director Rob Healy, dropped out last week.

Those who qualified for City Council races include:

District 1: Pat Hagan; Chip Henderson; Jim Folkner, founder of Citizens to Recall Mayor Littlefield; and former Signal Mountain High School Principal Tom McCullough. Current Councilwoman Deborah Scott is not running.

District 2: Former City Parks and Recreation Director Jerry Mitchell; Priscilla Simmons, former city accounting manager; and Roger Tuder, president and CEO of Associated General Contractors of East Tennessee. Current Councilwoman Sally Robinson is not running.

District 3: City Councilwoman Pam Ladd and Ken Smith, chief information officer for The Johnson Group.

District 4: Councilman Jack Benson; Larry Grohn; Ryan King; Scott McColphin; Tom Tomiseck.

District 5: Councilman Russell Gilbert Jr.

District 6: Councilwoman Carol Berz.

District 7: Chris Anderson, food and beverage director at Bluff View Art District; Karl Epperson; Tramble Stephens; and Councilman Manny Rico.

District 8: Moses Freeman, former city administrator and community volunteer; and City Councilman Andraé McGary.

District 9: Former City Councilman Yusuf Hakeem and Councilman Peter Murphy.