some text
Clay Bennett is a finalist for the 2013 Pulitzer Prize in editorial cartooning.

See the cartoons

See Clay Bennett’s entry for the Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons here:


The Decision

The Obsession


Community Relations


The National Press Foundation has named Chattanooga Times Free Press cartoonist Clay Bennett as the recipient of the 2014 Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons.

The judges for this year’s Berryman Award cited “the elegant simplicity and sharp bite of Clay Bennett’s work. A combination of clean drawings and clear messages, Bennett’s style is disarming and charming, his humor is subtle and wry, and his execution is flawless.”

The Berryman Award, named after the father and son team of cartoonists for the Washington Star, will be presented at the National Press Foundation’s gala award dinner Feb. 18 in Washington, D.C.

Earlier this year, Bennett received the Grambs Aronson Award for cartooning. He also was a finalist for the Herblock Prize and the National Cartoonists Society’s Reuben Award for Editorial Cartooning.

Bennett has received numerous awards for his work, including the 2002 Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning, and he has been a finalist for the Pulitzer seven times.

Before joining the Times Free Press in 2007, Bennett worked at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, the St. Petersburg Times and the Christian Science Monitor. He is a past president of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

Presented annually, the National Press Foundation’s awards recognize excellence in a dozen categories of broadcast, print and online journalism. This year’s list of honorees includes:

Gilbert Bailon, editor of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, honored for guiding his news organization through the police shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo.; Alberto Ibargüen, president and CEO of the Knight Foundation, honored for his distinguished contributions to journalism; staff members of BuzzFeed News and CNN, honored for coverage of Congress; Thomas Frank of USA Today, honored for explaining how federal policy affects local government; and the website Re/code, honored for excellence in online journalism for its coverage of technology.