NASHVILLE — Hundreds of Tennessee towns, cities and local governments will be able to apply starting April 30 for their share of the state's one-time $200 million infrastructure and COVID-19 relief emergency funding, Gov. Bill Lee announced Monday.

Hamilton County's allotted share stands at $3.32 million, while the city of Chattanooga's is $4.01 million. Money can be used for local governments' response amid the coronavirus pandemic.

None of the money is available until July 1, when the state's 2020-2021 budget takes effect. And none can be used for recurring expenses by local governments.


Read Gov. Lee's grants for cities in Tennessee


"Capital maintenance, public safety and road projects don't pause for disasters like the March tornadoes and the COVID-19 pandemic," Lee said in a news release. "This grant fund will ease the burden on local governments as they work to meet infrastructure and safety obligations."

Lee initially recommended $100 million for counties and municipalities in his original budget.

As the COVID-19 global pandemic erupted, Lee and lawmakers added another $100 million to help local governments. Of the $200 million, half is going to counties, while the remaining $100 million will go to towns and cities.

Funding is based on population as published by the U.S. Census Bureau. Each county will receive at least $500,000, and each city or municipality will receive at least $30,000.

The three metro governments (Davidson, Moore and Trousdale) will receive one combined allocation.


Read Gov. Lee's grants for counties in Tennessee


Funds may be used for road projects, internet technology upgrades, capital maintenance, utility system upgrades and public safety projects.

Certain disaster-related expenses are also eligible for funding. And one-time expenses related to COVID-19 are eligible, with the list including supply and equipment purchases, cleaning, emergency food and shelter programs.

Counties affected by the March 2020 tornadoes— including Benton, Carroll, Davidson, Gibson, Putnam, Smith, and Wilson counties— may also use the funds for tornado relief efforts.

How much will area governments receive?


Chattanooga: $4,014,616

Collegedale: $283,611

East Ridge: $493,967

Lakesite: $71,025

Lookout Mountain: $71,180

Red Bank: $289,635

Ridgeside: $39,534

Signal Mountain: $219,061

Soddy-Daisy: $332,713

Walden: $77,271

BLEDSOE COUNTY: $1,035,446 *

Pikeville: $65,839

BRADLEY COUNTY: $1,327,645

Charleston: $45,227

Cleveland: $1,022,507

GRUNDY COUNTY: $1,024,520 *

Altamont: $52,686

Beersheba Springs: $40,107

Coalmont: $48,538

Monteagle: $57,122

Palmer: $44,653

Tracy City: $60,808


Jasper: $104,106

Gruetli-Laager: $68,134

Kimball: $61,359

New Hope: $53,216

Orme: $32,494

Powells Crossroads: $59,837

South Pittsburg: $96,603


Athens: $335,803

Calhoun: $40,968

Etowah: $106,842

Niota: $46,022

POLK COUNTY: $631,040

Benton: $58,049

Copperhill: $37,018

Ducktown: $40,416

RHEA COUNTY: $756,249

Dayton: $193,152

Graysville: $64,405

Spring City: $71,158


Dunlap: $142,991

Graysville: $64,405


Spencer: $66,236

Source: Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee's office
* indicates distressed county

Contact Andy Sher at or 615-255-0550. Follow him on Twitter @AndySher1.