This story was updated Tuesday, August 11, 2020, at 7:20 p.m. with more information.

UPDATE: Polls closed at 7 p.m. Tuesday in most Northwest Georgia counties and across the state for election runoffs.

Polls in Floyd County, one of the more populous counties in the 14th Congressional District, will remain open two hours late until 9 p.m. after a judge ordered the extension because "software issues" hampered voting there early Tuesday.


Polls are open until 7 p.m. in Northwest Georgia and across the state for election runoffs.

Republicans in two conservative North Georgia districts will pick Republican nominees to Congress, according to the Associated Press. In Northwest Georgia's 14th Congressional District, construction executive Marjorie Taylor Greene faces Rome neurosurgeon John Cowan. In Northeast Georgia's 9th District, state Rep. Matt Gurtler is trying to take his brand of constitutional purism to Congress, opposed by Athens gun dealer and Navy veteran Andrew Clyde. There are a total of 17 state legislative races on the ballot.

The Greene-Cowan race has received national attention. Greene received more than 40% of the ballots cast in the initial June 9 primary, while Cowan got 21%, the AP reported.

The winner will face Democratic candidate Kevin Van Ausdal. The district, which covers all or part of 12 counties, is solidly Republican.

Three major county commission races were pushed to runoffs in Catoosa, Chattooga and Walker counties.

READ MORE: Election day in Georgia: What you need to know for Tuesday

The seat for Georgia's House District 1 is up for grabs between former Rep. John Deffenbaugh and challenger Mike Cameron.

In Catoosa County, Vanita Hullander is running as an anti-establishment candidate against incumbent Jim Cutler in District 3. Cutler is one of three commissioners who ran for re-election. Steve Henry and Jeff Long both won in their primary elections.

In the primary race for Chattooga County sole commissioner, two votes separated Blake Elsberry (1,595) and incumbent Jason Winters (1,593). The runoff between the two is expected to be a close race.

For the brand-new Walker County Commission, Alan Painter and Robert Stultz will face off in a runoff for the District 4 seat. Painter's campaign slogan is "Public Service Over Politics." Stultz has said he has strong conservative values and is in support of limited government, free enterprise and limited taxation.

Democrats John McDonald, Tyrone Davis and Hakie Lyndel Shropshire will compete in November for districts 1, 2 and 3, respectively.

Voters in Murray County will vote again for a new sheriff. In June, Jimmy Davenport received 43% of the vote, while Dekota Boiling got 23% of the vote.

Voters in Dade County will vote for a new school board member between Jayne Griffin and Brooke Wilson.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.

Contact Patrick Filbin at or 423-757-6476. Follow him on Twitter @PatrickFilbin.