ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
Staff file photo by Erin O. Smith / The Southern Belle riverboat will couple its Thanksgiving lunch and dinner with a sightseeing cruise on Thursday. Three times were available as of Tuesday, but group sales manager Joy Reinert says tickets typically sell out by Thanksgiving.

Need a last-minute item for the Thanksgiving feast? A way to entertain visiting relatives when the meal is done?

Here are some area attractions, retailers and grocery stores open Thanksgiving Day.

The attractions list includes the Southern Belle Riverboat, which could be considered a twofer, with something to eat and something to do.

"You'll get a traditional Thanksgiving meal of ham, turkey and all the sides, plus a cruise and live music," said group sales manager Joy Reinert. "It's just nice."

Reinert said scheduling Thanksgiving Day cruises has been a tradition since the riverboat was christened in 1985, and tickets typically sell out.

"It's been hugely successful," she said.

 

GROCERY STORES OPEN THANKSGIVING

— Food City: 7 a.m.-3 p.m.; foodcity.com

— The Fresh Market: 7 a.m.-3 p.m.; thefreshmarket.com

— Whole Foods Market: 7 a.m.-3 p.m.; wholefoodsmarket.com

 

GROCERY STORES CLOSED THANKSGIVING

— Aldi

Gordon Food Service Store

— Publix

Trader Joe's

— United Grocery Outlet

— Walmart

READ MORE: These Chattanooga-area restaurants will cook your Thanksgiving meal to eat in or serve at home

 

RETAILERS OPEN THANKSGIVING

— Bass Pro Shops: 9 a.m.- 6 p.m.; basspro.com

— Big Lots: 7 a.m.- 9 p.m.; biglots.com

— CVS: Most stores open regular hours; some pharmacies may be closed; cvs.com

— Dollar General: 7 a.m.- 10 p.m.; dollargeneral.com

— Family Dollar: 8 a.m.- 6 p.m.; familydollar.com

— Walgreens: 24-hour locations open; some stores and pharmacies may have limited hours; walgreens.com

 

ATTRACTIONS OPEN THANKSGIVING

— AMC movie theaters (all area locations); amctheatres.com

— Coolidge Park carousel: 11 a.m.-7 p.m. chattanooga.gov

Ice on the Landing: 2-11 p.m.; iceonthelanding.com

— Regal movie theater at Hamilton Place; regmovies.com

— Rock City: Daytime tours, 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.; Enchanted Garden of Lights, 5-10 p.m.; seerockcity.com

— Ruby Falls: 8 a.m.-4 p.m. (closing early); rubyfalls.com

— Southern Belle riverboat: Thanksgiving dinner with sightseeing cruise at 11 a.m., 2 and 5 p.m.; chattanoogariverboat.com

— Spare Time bowling centers, Brainerd and Hixson: 3-11 p.m.; sparetimeentertainment.com

 

ATTRACTIONS CLOSED THANKSGIVING

— Charles H. Coolidge National Medal of Honor Heritage Center

— Chattanooga Ducks

— Chattanooga Whiskey Experimental Distillery

— Chattanooga Zoo

— Creative Discovery Museum

— High Point Climbing & Fitness

— High Point Zip Adventure

— Houston Museum of Decorative Arts (reopens Saturday)

— Hunter Museum of American Art

— Incline Railway

— International Towing & Recovery Hall of Fame & Museum

— Reflection Riding (members-only access)

— Sir Goony's Fun Zone

— Splitz Alley

— Tennessee Aquarium

— Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum

Topgolf

Contact Lisa Denton at ldenton@timesfreepress.com or 423-757-6281.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT