Starting in January, the seat belt fine will more than double in Tennessee — a state with one of the lowest penalties across the nation compared with several whose first-time violations top out at more than $100 a pop.
Getting pulled over for not wearing a seat belt costs $10 for a first-time violation and $20 for a second offense. Starting in January, fines for not wearing a seat belt increase to $25 for a first-offense violation and $50 for second and subsequent offenses.
In August, the Tennessee Governor's Highway Safety Office and the Tennessee Highway Patrol announced seat belt usage is sliding downward in Tennessee.
Read more from our news partner The Tennessean.