Alabama junior left tackle Cam Robinson (74) was named Wednesday as the winner of the Jacobs Trophy, which is awarded annually to the Southeastern Conference's best blocker.
some text
Alabama offensive lineman Lester Cotton (66) and offensive lineman Cam Robinson (74) line up against Southern California during an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Sept. 3, 2016, in Arlington, Texas. (AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez)

Freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts, senior defensive end Jonathan Allen and coach Nick Saban led Alabama's hardware haul Wednesday as the Southeastern Conference announced its individual award winners for the 2016 season.

In a vote of the SEC's coaches, Hurts won the league's offensive player of the year, Allen the defensive player of the year and Saban the coach of the year. Hurts also was tabbed SEC freshman of the year, while Crimson Tide junior left tackle Cam Robinson won the Jacobs Trophy as the league's premier blocker.

Hurts is the first true freshman to be named SEC offensive player of the year since the conference split its honors into offensive and defensive categories in 2003. The last true freshman to win SEC player of the year was Georgia tailback Herschel Walker in 1980.

Allen, who already has claimed the Nagurski Trophy and the Ted Hendricks Award, has tallied 13 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks as part of a defense that leads the nation in fewest yards allowed (247.8), fewest rushing yards allowed (63.4) and fewest points allowed (11.8). He also has returned two fumbles for 105 yards and two touchdowns.

Saban is 111-12 since the start of the 2008 season and has a chance to lead the Crimson Tide to their fifth national championship in eight years. Alabama faces Washington in the Peach Bowl national semifinal on New Year's Eve.

The only SEC individual honors not claimed by Alabama representatives Wednesday were special teams player of the year, which went to Auburn junior kicker Daniel Carlson, and scholar-athlete of the year, which went to Arkansas senior linebacker Brooks Ellis.

Carlson has scored 127 points this season, having made all 43 extra-point tries and 26 of 30 field-goal attempts, with three of his misses coming from 52 yards or longer (he had a 35-yard attempt blocked by Vanderbilt's Zach Cunningham). The other six points came when he scored a touchdown on a fake field goal against Arkansas State.

Cornwell transferring

Alabama redshirt sophomore quarterback David Cornwell announced via social media Wednesday that he is transferring.

"I have made great friends and learned a lot from my coaches and teammates," Cornwell said, "and I've celebrated all of our successes as a member of the team. At the same time, my dream is to get on the field and contribute."

The Crimson Tide began this season with four scholarship quarterbacks — redshirt junior Cooper Bateman, Cornwell, redshirt freshman Blake Barnett and Hurts. Barnett started the opener against Southern California but transferred in late September and recently decided on Arizona State.

Bateman, the primary backup and the holder on field goals and extra points, is transferring, but ESPN reported Wednesday that he will stay with Alabama through the end of the season. If Bateman and Cornwell decided to leave immediately, the Crimson Tide would have Hurts and walk-on quarterbacks Montana Murphy and Josh Palet for the Peach Bowl, though Murphy is reportedly injured.

Contact David Paschall at or 423-757-6524.