AP photo by John Bazemore / Alabama quarterback Bryce Young passes during Saturday's SEC title game win against Georgia.

This story was updated with more information at 11:35 p.m. on Dec. 9, 2021.

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young is The Associated Press college football player of the year, giving the Crimson Tide its second consecutive winner of the award.

Young received 42 of 53 first-place votes from AP Top 25 poll voters and 137 points to easily finish ahead of Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson (four first-place votes, 67 points).

Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett was third (two first-place votes, 41 points), Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. was fourth (four first-place votes, 32 points) and Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud was fifth (one first-place vote, 17 points). The other players who received votes were Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker III (13 points), Georgia defensive tackle Jordan Davis (eight points), Ole Miss quarterback Matt Corral (two points) and Cincinnati running back Jerome Ford (one point).

Huchinson, Pickett, Stroud and Young are the finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented Saturday in New York.

Later Thursday, during the college football awards show televised by ESPN, Young also won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback and the Maxwell Award as the most outstanding player in college football.

Other honorees Thursday night included Davis, who won the Bednarik Award as the nation's top defensive player and the Outland Trophy as the most outstanding interior lineman, and Walker, who became the first Spartan to win the Doak Walker Award as the nation's best running back. Walker, who finished sixth in AP player of the year voting, was also named Walter Camp player of the year.

A sophomore and first-year starter, Young has passed for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns this season, leading the top-ranked Tide to the Southeastern Conference championship and the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff. Alabama (12-1) will face No. 4 Cincinnati (13-0) in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 31, the same day No. 3 Georgia (12-1) — which lost 41-24 to the Tide in last Saturday's SEC title game — takes on No. 2 Michigan (12-1) in the Orange Bowl, the other CFP semifinal.

Young said he felt well prepared for the challenge of leading a program that has set the standard in college football for more than a decade, but nothing speaks louder than performance.

"Settling in and getting to play in different environments, getting to be put in situations, naturally, makes you more comfortable as leaders," Young told AP. "It's always about what you do in offseason, how you carry yourself, but any time you're able to produce in big moments and you're able to demonstrate a lot, that's always a big part as well. Because leadership is a lot about action."

Young's 421 passing yards against Georgia set a record for the SEC championship game.

Alabama receiver DeVonta Smith became the first Alabama player to win AP player of the year in 2020. Young is the 18th quarterback to win the award since it was established in 1998.

Young, a Southern California native and former five-star recruit, said the high expectations are what drew him to Alabama and help motivate him: "You want to live up to the pressure and to the hype of it all."

In other recognition Thursday night:

Pitt receiver Tre Tipton won the Disney Spirit Award.

Stanford quarterback Isaiah Sanders won the Wuerffel Trophy for community service.

Pitt's Jordan Addison won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver.

Michigan's Jake Moody won the Lou Groza Award as the nation's best kicker.

San Diego State's Matt Araiza took the Ray Guy Award as the best punter.

Cincinnati cornerback Coby Bryant won the Thorpe Award as the best defensive back.

Before Thursday:

Georgia's Nakobe Dean won the Butkus Award as the nation's top linebacker.

Colorado State's Trey McBride won the Mackey Award for best tight end.

Iowa's Tyler Linderbaum won the Rimington Award as the best center.

Arkansas linebacker Grant Morgan won the Burlsworth Trophy as the top player whose career started as a walk-on.

Hutchinson won the Lombardi Award as the best lineman.

Anderson won the Nagurski defensive player of the year award.