Ten area guys TSWA all-state

Ten area guys TSWA all-state

April 25th, 2012 by Stephen Hargis in Sports - Preps

Four players who helped lead their teams to the TSSAA boys' basketball tournament have earned all-state recognition by the Tennessee Sports Writers Association.

Baylor's Reggie Upshaw, Ooltewah's Jervon Johnson, Howard's Brandon Walters and Grace Academy's Corey Nelson were among the all-state selections. Upshaw is joined on the Division II team by McCallie's C.J. Reese and Terrance O'Donohue, while Johnson is on the Class AAA list along with Cleveland's D.J. Bowles. Walters is joined on the AA team by Sequatchie County's Daniel Cartwright, and Nelson is listed in Class A with Lookout Valley's Delaney Heathington and Tellico Plains' Preston Russell.

"We knew we could trust C.J. with the ball any time during the game. He was the guy we wanted with the ball in his hands, running our offense," said McCallie coach Dan Wadley, whose team won 23 games before falling one shy of reaching the state's Final Four in D-II. "O'Donohue was tough on both ends. He's a shot blocker and a good player down in the post with his ability to score and rebound."

The 6-7 O'Donohue averaged 13.8 points and six rebounds a game, and Reese averaged 12.7 points and five assists.

Johnson's 22.8 points per game helped lead Ooltewah to the Class AAA state tournament for the first time in more than 25 years, and Bowles paced Cleveland for a second straight season, averaging 16.9 points.

"We had a lot of talent around him, but he made us go most nights," Ooltewah coach Jesse Nayadley said. "He's such a versatile player, it makes him really tough to defend."

Walters, a 6-foot-8 junior, averaged 23 points, 12 rebounds for the Hustlin' Tigers, who reached the state tournament for the fourth time in five years. Cartwright's 20.9 points and 7.6 assists a game as the Indians' point guard helped them reach the state sectionals for the first time.

Nelson averaged 23 points to help Grace Academy return to the state tournament for a third straight season, and Heathington helped Lookout Valley claim its second straight District 6-A title, averaging 17 points per game.

TSWA boys' basketball all-state

Class A

Alex Fountain (Wartburg Central), Martavious Newby (Booker T. Washington), Rafael Tyler (Lake County), Cody Malicoat (Jellico), Corey Nelson (Grace Academy), Khalil Spencer (Booker T. Washington), Derrick Spears (Middle Tenn. Christian), Ben Kelley (Eagleville), Delaney Heathington (Lookout Valley), Preston Russell (Tellico Plains), Mark Sandoval (Friendship Christian), Allen Heaston (Friendship Christian), Jacob Tucker (Perry County), Cannon Rhodes (Perry County), Garrett Mullinicks (McEwen).

Class AA

Craig Bradshaw (Christ Presbyterian), Brandon Cole (Stone Memorial), Jalen Lindsey (CPA), Curt Arnold (Sullivan North), Robert Troino (Stone Memorial), Brock Rowan (Stone Memorial), Kenny Dean (Alcoa), Daniel Cartwright (Sequatchie County), Brandon Walters (Howard), Aquarius Stevenson (Mitchell), Tyrone Wooten (Trezevant), Logan Ramsey (Livingston Academy), Montrae Williams (Spring Hill), Keilan Blanks (Spring Hill).

Class AAA

Cameron Golden (Ridgeway), Jajuan Johnson (Southwind), Alex Poythress (Northeast), C.J. Good (Science Hill), Calvin Walker (Knox West), Nick King (Memphis East), Andre Applewhite (Memphis Central), Anthlon Bell (Bartlett), Jervon Johnson (Ooltewah), D.J. Bowles (Cleveland), Markel Crawford (Melrose), Johnathan Williams III (Southwind), Darius Thompson (Blackman), Phillip Roper (Cookeville), James Scales (Cherokee).

Division II

John Ross Glover (Univ. School, Jackson), Skal Labissiere (Evangelical Christian), Cameron Payne (Lausanne), Corn Elder (Ensworth), David Howard (Montgomery Bell Acad.), Austin Nichols (Briarcrest), Josh Phillips (Pope John Paul II)

Burton Sampson (Knoxville Webb), Reggie Upshaw (Baylor), C.J. Reese (McCallie), Terrance O'Donohue (McCallie), Lee Mayhall (USJ).