Ridgeland leads all-region 7 choices

Ridgeland leads all-region 7 choices

December 21st, 2012 by Staff Reports in Sports - Preps

State runner-up Ridgeland headlined the coaches' All-Region 7-AAAA football team for 2012 with the Panthers' Mark Mariakis selected coach of the year, safety and wingback Vonn Bell the player of the year and fullback Darrell Bridges the offensive player of the year.

Also earning all-region first-team honors for the Panthers were linemen Gannon Hampton, Grady Matthews and Dustin Davis on offense and linebacker DeAngelo Smith.

Northwest Whitfield junior Isaiah Mack was named the region's defensive player of the year and was joined by lineman Victor Lopez and cornerback Kaleb King on the first team.

Dalton had eight players make the first team: running back Kelvis Rhodes, receiver Brandon Dale, linemen Jake Roberts and B.J. Rowland, athlete Eder Mora and kicker Pepe Garcia on the offensive side and linemen Robert Hardaway and Ethan Fromm on defense. Also making the first-team defense were Southeast Whitfield's Jayro Perez and Heritage's Jordan Liles.

Calhoun tops 7-AA

Calhoun swept Region 7-AA's top honors, with Hal Lamb voted coach of the year, Taylor Lamb the offensive player of the year and Jackson Brumlow the defensive player of the year.

Other first-team all-region Yellow Jackets are running back Alex Urbano, receivers Josh Barnes and Tydus Curtis, linemen Austin Byrd and Katrova Dew and kicker Jonah Gallman on offense and Hunter Padgett, Sebastian Willer, Will Conley, Carter Edwards, Donnell Anthony and punter Zane Rhodes on defense.

Also making the team are Dade County running back Travis Nunley and Chattooga athlete Nigel Dickerson.