This story was updated at 3:36 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 3, 2019, with more information.

McCallie senior John Arrowsmith was determined not to let up in what was the final high school cross country race for him and several teammates.

Saturday at Percy Warner Park in Nashville, the Blue Tornado won the TSSAA Division II-AA boys' championship for the program's first state title since 2013.

Arrowsmith finished second overall with a time of 16:52 in the 5-kilometer (3.1-mile) race, while Chattanooga Christian School's Edimo Ninterestse took the top individual spot in 16:28.

"Last year I got outkicked in the finish chute by two guys to be bumped off the all-state podium," said Arrowsmith, who has applied to Harvard. "I stayed consistent and had the mindset I wasn't going to let anybody pass me in the chute. I felt good and we all finished strong."

Brentwood Academy's run of five straight Division II-AA boys' state championships came to a close. Father Ryan was second and CCS was third.

McCallie had an average finishing time of 17:04, and its team score of 38 is the program's best since its 2012 title squad scored 34. Arrowsmith was followed by senior teammates Dylan Zeller (fourth, 16:56), Duke Richey (seventh, 17:04) and Samuel Ligon (11th, 17:12), and junior Benjamin Niehaus was 14th in 17:16.

"We were the favorites going in, and our boys handled that pressure and had some really fine races," Blue Tornado coach Mike Wood said. "They took a business approach into the race. They were determined to win it all. They didn't run with emotion or outside of themselves. They ran under control. I couldn't be more proud of them."

Signal Mountain's boys and girls raced to a clean sweep of the Division I Small Class championships.

The Eagles had all five of their runners finish in less than 18 minutes and take the all-state podium. Austin Wingfield (17:29) was fifth overall.

Tara Jessen (21:33) took seventh for the Lady Eagles, who now have won six of the past seven state championships. Sequatchie County senior Emma Bradford was second in that race at 20:39.

Finishing third in DII-AA behind winner Brentwood Academy and Harpeth Hall, Baylor's Lady Red Raiders had the fastest average time of any area girls' program at 21:15. Baylor freshman Helen Webb took fourth place in 19:55, and Emmy Davis was seventh at 20:18.

Chattanooga Christian School's Phoebe Moran finished fifth in the Division II-AA race with a time of 20:10, which was second in the area behind Webb. The CCS boys finished third as Jack Cottrell and Alexander Bastnagel placed eighth and 12th overall with times of 17:04 and 17:16, respectively.

Other impressive area runners included Cleveland's Ryan Lovelace (63rd in boys' Large class, 17:21), CCS' Chase Manton (20th, 17:31), Signal Mountain's Colton Underwood (9th, 17:43), Notre Dame's Sophie Welch (10th, 21:04) and GPS's Minah Sadrabadi (17th, 21:03). 

Contact Patrick MacCoon at Follow him on Twitter @PMacCoon.