Staff photo by C.B. Schmelter / Baylor's Barrett Chambers, top, wrestles Bradley Central's Gavin Sewell during a 220-pound bout at Jim Smiddy Arena on Dec. 12, 2019, in Cleveland, Tenn.

The Chattanooga area is well represented in all three classifications of the Tennessee Sports Writer Association's all-state wrestling teams this year. A total of 43 high school wrestlers from the area were selected in their respective classifications and weight classes.

Baylor swept the traditional and state duals championships in TSSAA Division II this past season, as did Cleveland in Class AAA.

Eight wrestlers from Baylor and seven from McCallie lead the way among the D-II selections, while Cleveland also has eight in AAA.

Hixson and Signal Mountain top the list of area wrestlers honored in Class A/AA with four each. Among the Signal Mountain selections are junior Daniel Uhorchuk — who has not lost a match in three seasons and is committed to Army — and his brother Caleb, a freshman.

Among the Baylor contingent is senior Noah Horst, a four-time individual state champion, a distinction shared by McCallie all-state pick Alex Whitworth, who still has final prep season ahead of him.

Contact Stephen Hargis at or 423-757-6293. Follow him on Twitter @StephenHargis.


Class A/AA

106 — Caleb Uhorchuk (Signal Mountain), Cole Dorsett (Nolensville), Marcus Smith (Gibbs), Hunter Gentry (Pigeon Forge); 113 — LeAndre Dabney Jr. (Greeneville), Gregory Gomez (Martin Luther King), Andy Cable (Pigeon Forge), Seth McCoy (Forrest); 120 — Daniel Uhorchuk (Signal Mountain), Trevor Lewis (Hixson), Caleb Gumlick (Pigeon Forge), Logan Heckert (Sycamore); 126 — Hunter Mason (Greeneville), Riley Lippincott (Nolensville), Cole McCartney (Greenbrier), Noah Dyer (Pigeon Forge); 132 — Josh Parton (Pigeon Forge), Dalen Kimble (Sycamore), Hunter Johnson (Greeneville), Jeremiah Shackleford (Hixson); 138 — Garrett Foreman (Pigeon Forge), Riley Bennett (Fairview), Jacob Vogelpohl (Nolensville), Christian Moore (Gibbs); 145 — Kodiak Cannedy (Greeneville), Kevin Muschel (Signal Mountain), Malachi Bennett (Fairview), Alex Overbay (Sullivan South), 152 — Colby Dalon (Pigeon Forge), Ryan Wimbley (Alcoa), Gavin Channell (Nolensville), Ken Curtis (Fairview); 160 — Wyatt McLemore (Eagleville), Preston Worley (Signal Mountain), Antonio Washington (Bolton), Anthony Jones (Alcoa); 170 — Nick McClendon (Forrest), Matthew Trotter (Creek Wood), Caden Cline (Red Bank), William Carter (Alcoa); 182 — Noah Hill (Forrest), Joseph Skidmore (Pigeon Forge), Jason Dennis (Eagleville), Cody DeLano (Fairview), 195 — Jonathan Morton (Elizabethton), Caleb Wolfe (Pigeon Forge), Kambell Brown (Alcoa), McKinley Wagner (Nolensville); 220 — Parrish Pacetti (Hixson), Elliott Grinder (Hume-Fogg), Ethan Sutton (Pigeon Forge), Cameron Hensley (Greeneville); 285 — Lance Williams (Alcoa), Garrison Albino (Gibbs), Devotis McCurdy (Hixson), James Headrick (Whitwell).

Class AAA

106 — Bentley Ellison (Cleveland), Ethan Wilson (Bradley Central), Keegan Schulz (Munford), Nicholas Mercante (Wilson Central); 113 — Thomas Borders (Wilson Central), Justin Bradford (Blackman), Arlo Laxton (Cleveland), Chris Calvin (McGavock Comprehensive); 120 — Trey Bates (Beech), Jackson Bradford (Cleveland), Andrew Artiles (Collierville), Grant Fetters (Wilson Central); 126 — Trae McDaniel (Cleveland), Brennan Watkins (Dobyns-Bennett), Samuel Shires (Rossview), Mason Sells (Blackman); 132 — Tyler Seeley (Science Hill), Ethan Moore (Rossview), Gavin Hughes (Bradley Central), Franky Medina (Riverdale); 138 — Christian Isbell (Clarksville), Alan Fort (Wilson Central), Braxton Mann (Science Hill), Landon Fisher (Jefferson County); 145 — Jackson Hurst (Dobyns Bennett), Thomas Williams (Rossview), Alex Ables (Centennial), Dylan Cockman (Arlington); 152 — Mason Smith (Beech), Levi Stone (Wilson Central), Robert Laxton (Cleveland), Derrick Bannister (Kenwood); 160 — Tre Morrisette (Dobyns-Bennett), Dejon Glaster (Oakland), Jared Harter (Science Hill), Nate Schilling (Cleveland); 170— Gabriel Smith (Clarksville), Josh Pietarila (Hardin Valley), Anthony Gomez (Blackman), Zach Brezna (Cleveland); 182 — Brooks Sacharczyk (Blackman), Hayden Maynor (Soddy-Daisy), Cooper Richards (Springfield), Tyrone McDonald (Bradley Central); 195 — Johnny Mac Feldhacker (Brentwood), Jason Brumlow (East Hamilton), Joshua Cummins (Anderson County), Kallum Lowe (Walker Valley); 220 — Ashton Davis (Cleveland), Brandon Elkins (Knoxville Halls), Bowdy Boyce (Blackman), Ryver Shelton (Jefferson County); 285 — Skylar Coffey (Brentwood), Jadon Langford (Walker Valley), Jared Dawson (Collierville), Gabrille Fletcher (McGavock Comprehensive).

Division II

106 — Nick Cordey (Baylor), Wills Bronson (Christian Brothers), Tate Williams (Boyd Buchanan), AJ Jolly (Chattanooga Christian); 113 — Jackson Bond (Baylor), Tre McTorry (Brentwood Academy), Nicholas Ridings (McCallie), Robert Deitch (Notre Dame); 120 — Dayne Dalrymple (Christian Brothers), Jack Braman (McCallie), Kade Hartline (Baylor), Chase Eakes (Friendship Christian); 126 — Emory Taylor (McCallie), Thomas Wesnofske (Father Ryan), Ryan Tisdale (Baylor), Will Higgins (Montgomery Bell Academy); 132 — Noah Horst (Baylor), Aidan Bowers (Christian Brothers), Ian McGehee (Memphis University School), Frank Perazzini (MBA); 138 — Garrison Dendy (Baylor), Sean Pitts (Father Ryan), Adam Garfinkel (MBA), Sebastian Bougeois (St. Benedict); 145 — Evan Anthony (Christian Brothers), Benjamin Marchetti (Father Ryan), Chase Radpour (Baylor), Rand Holtzclaw (McCallie); 152 — Garrett Bowers (Christian Brothers), Lawrence Madson (Father Ryan), Christian Howard (MUS), Anthony Mannella (Baylor); 160 — James Whitworth (McCallie), Omaury Alvarez (Baylor), Logan Spell (Brentwood Academy), Jack Revere (Battle Ground Academy); 170 — Gavin Cagle (McCallie), JaCorey Miller (Father Ryan), Ronald Garriques (Baylor), Gervacio Gonzalez (Christian Brothers); 182 — Connor Duffy (Baylor), Riley Looper (McCallie), Anthony Wright (Father Ryan), Mason Skeeters (MBA); 195 — David Harper (Baylor), Parker Petersen (Father Ryan), Gabe Fisher (MBA), Connor Billingsley (Christian Brothers); 220 — Al Wooten (Christian Brothers), Barrett Chambers (Baylor), David Dixon (Boyd Buchanan), Toleo Malone (Ensworth); 285 — James Howard (McCallie), Ryan Jackson (Friendship Christian), Jacob Brigman (Notre Dame), Joseph Moore (MBA).