Staff file photo / The Honors Course will host the U.S. Senior Amateur in 2021, the U.S. Women's Amateur in 2026 and the U.S. Amateur in 2031. That will bring the total of United States Golf Association championships hosted by the Ooltewah club to eight.

This story was updated with more information at 7:45 p.m. on Feb. 27, 2020.

Ever since it was founded by the late Jack Lupton in 1983, The Honors Course has been branded as the ultimate celebration of amateur golf.

Over the next 11 years, the United States Golf Association will add to that legacy by awarding the Pete Dye-designed gem three of its most respected championships, including in 2031 the U.S. Amateur, which also was staged at the Honors in 1991.

Also visiting the course in Ooltewah will be the U.S. Senior Am in 2021 and the U.S. Women's Am in 2026. The Women's Am and U.S. Am will be the seventh and eighth USGA championships conducted at the Honors.

"Having three USGA championships at our course over the next 11 years is an incredible honor and a tremendous reflection of the hard work of our members and staff in carrying out our club's dedication to amateur golf," said Joe Richardson, chairman of The Honors Course.

some text
Staff file photo by Robin Rudd / Plaques at the circle drive in front of the clubhouse at The Honors Course are dedicated to achievements in amateur golf.

"The 2031 U.S. Amateur will have special significance as we mark the 40th anniversary of hosting the championship. We are proud and excited to welcome everyone to our home."

(READ MORE: Chef Dennis Kinsey retires after 33 years at The Honors Course in Ooltewah)

Other previous USGA national events hosted by the Honors include the 1994 Curtis Cup Match, a biennial women's competition between the USA and Great Britain and Ireland; the 2005 U.S. Mid-Amateur, won by Kevin Marsh; the 2011 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur, won by Terri Frohnmayer; and the 2016 U.S. Junior Amateur, won by Min Woo Lee. Mitch Voges won the 1991 U.S. Am.

In addition to those events, the course hosted the NCAA men's golf championship in 1996 and 2010.

"The U.S. Women's Amateur and the U.S. Amateur are among the preeminent championships in the amateur game, and we are excited to conduct them at a club that is so supportive of amateur golf," said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director of championships. "The Honors Course will provide an outstanding test for the top players from around the world."

Previous notable winners of the U.S. Am include five-time champion Bob Jones, three-time champion Tiger Woods, two-time winner Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Lanny Wadkins, Jerry Pate, Mark O'Meara, Hal Sutton and current PGA pros Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar and Bryson DeChambeau.

Contact Mark Wiedmer at Follow him on Twitter @TFPWeeds.