Sequatchie County's Katie Brock, top, controls Caitlyn Green of Northeast in their 105-pound championship final at the TSSAA wrestling state tournament in Franklin this past February. Brock, who won the match to finish the season 31-0 and earn her fourth state title, is the Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award recipient for 2016. The award is presented by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and recognizes "excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship and community service," according to a release from the hall.
some text

Katie Brock of Sequatchie County High School is the 2016 recipient of the Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame has announced. Mark Hall II of Apple Valley, Minn., won the corresponding male award named for Dave Schultz. Brock is a four-time Tennessee state champion, which gives her more state titles than any team or any other individual in the Dunlap school's history. A volleyball captain as a senior and a four-year wrestling team captain, she had a 113-2 career record and received "best wrestler" honors at the 2016 region and state tournaments. She also has a 3.54 grade point average and has signed to wrestle for Campbellsville University.


* Ringgold's Buddy Gross added to his lead and Dayton's Michael Neal remained second after Friday's second round in the Walmart FLW Tour bass tournament on Pickwick Lake. Gross, a first-year pro who rooms with Neal when they travel, totaled 21 pounds, 3 ounces with his five keepers and is at 46-11 with Neal at 37-14 with two days to go. Former Ooltewah resident Jay Kendrick of Grant, Ala., Spring City's Wesley Strader and Dayton's Andy Morgan also are in the top 20 going back out today; they are 17th through 19th at 29-7, 29-6 and 28-15.


* UTC golfer Emily McLennan moved up into a tie for 22nd at 152, one shot ahead of Middle Tennessee State's Avery George from Walker Valley, in the NCAA Women's Shoal Creek Regional on Friday at Birmingham, Ala. McLennan's 75 was four shots better than the day's field average. Tennessee's Blakesly Warren from Baylor School is tied for 46th at 156, and MTSU's Jenna Burris from St. Andrew's-Sewanee is at 164.


* Lee University senior Emily Dagnan from Sequatchie County High School by way of Chattanooga State is the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Division II South all-region first-team catcher. She previously was an All-Gulf South Conference first-teamer after batting .411 with eight home runs, 19 doubles, 50 RBIs and a .722 slugging percentage this season, and she threw out 21 of 52 opponents trying to steal bases.

* Meigs County senior pitcher and outfielder Olivia Johnson signed softball scholarship papers Friday with Bryan College in Dayton, Tenn. Johnson said she visited the campus last year during Labor Day weekend and felt good about meeting the players. "I really like that it's close to home," Johnson said. "Also it being a Christian school with a Christian atmosphere made my decision easier." Johnson has an 11-1 pitching record and a 1.65 ERA this season for the Lady Tigers, who won the District 3-A regular-season championship. She's batting .370 with three home runs and 31 RBIs. "She's a top student and a hard worker," Meigs coach Jeff Davis said. "She's worked herself into being a good ballplayer. I think as she gets stronger, which I'm sure she will in college, the sky's the limit for her." Johnson plans to major in health and exercise science.

* Junior shortstop Sarah Moore from Lookout Mountain, Ga., and Baylor School, was one of four Berry College softball players earning 2016 NCAA Division III academic all-district status as voted on by CoSIDA. A nursing major with a 3.88 GPA, Moore has a .411 batting average with 44 runs scored and 40 batted in this season.


* A week before opening its soccer season in Birmingham, the Chattanooga Football Club will play an intrasquad match tonight at 7 at Finley Stadium, and the public is invited at no charge. The squad returns a number of key players from the NPSL national runners-up of the last two years, including striker Luke Winter and goalkeeper Greg Hartley, but also has new potential standouts such as former West Ham United u-18 and u-21 captain Kieran Bywater and defender Danny Reynolds, with older brother Carl Reynolds rejoining the team.