Skip to main content
Tuesday, November 3, 2026Nov 3

This story is free to read.

Burn season starts Oct. 15, permits needed

Brush and oak trees flare up as firefighters work to contain a blaze that burns along Highway 68 east of Laureles Grade in rural Salinas, Calif., Saturday, Sept. 19, 2015. (David Royal/The Monterey County Herald via AP) MANDATORY CREDIT
Brush and oak trees flare up as firefighters work to contain a blaze that burns along Highway 68 east of Laureles Grade in rural Salinas, Calif., Saturday, Sept. 19, 2015. (David Royal/The Monterey County Herald via AP) MANDATORY CREDIT Brush and oak trees flare up as firefighters work to contain a blaze that burns along Highway 68 east of Laureles Grade in rural Salinas, Calif., Saturday, Sept. 19, 2015. (David Royal/The Monterey County Herald via AP) MANDATORY CREDIT

Burn season starts Oct. 15, which means most outdoor burning must be permitted by the Tennessee Division of Forestry.

State law requires anyone starting an open-air fire within 500 feet of any forests, woodlands or grasslands must first secure a burning permit.

To obtain a permit, call the Tennessee Division of Forestry or visit www.BurnsafeTN.org.

Hamilton County residents also must have a $5 permit from the Air Pollution Control Bureau. Call 423-643-5970 for information on obtaining a permit.