Lee's Ferreira tops All-SSAC volleyball

Not surprisingly, the No. 1-ranked volleyball team in the NAIA dominated the Southern States Athletic Conference awards announced Monday, as Lee University had player of the year Arlene Ferreira, coach of the year Andrea Hudson, five All-SSAC first-team selections and two other All-SSAC East players. Valquiria Caboclo, who joined NAIA first-team All-American and fellow Brazilian Ferreira in transferring from Texas-Brownsville, joined her also on the All-SSAC first team along with repeat first-teamers Kayla Carlisle and Christa Hutchison and 2009 second-teamer Stephanie Todd from the Lady Flames (35-0). Lee setters Gretchen Higdon and Kelsey Leffew joined that group on the East team. Ferreira, Hutchison and repeat MVP Carlisle made the SSAC all-tournament team Saturday. Carlisle, Hutchison, Higdon, Leffew, Todd, Sarah Smith, Courtney Culbreath and Lindsay Shein were SSAC all-academic honorees, and Culbreath was Lee's representative on the Musco Lighting Champion of Character team. Lee has a first-round bye into the Nov. 30-Dec. 4 NAIA tournament in Sioux City, Iowa.


* Tickets are on sale for the soccer exhibition match between the under-20 Mexico and Colombia men's teams Nov. 30 at 7 p.m. at Finley Stadium. The event is hosted by the Chattanooga Football Club, and tickets will cost $20 at the gate. In advance, they are available for $15 at El Meson restaurants in Hixson and at Hamilton Place, at Loa Carniceria locations in Chattanooga, Cleveland and Dalton and at www.mexicovscolombia.eventsbot.com.

* Two East Ridge Express boys' soccer teams won state championships this past weekend in Murfreesboro. The Express 93 White coached by Scot Bosgraf stretched its season record to 19-0-1 in the under-18 division with a 1-1 tie against Brentwood Select, a 4-2 win over Camp Forrest with three goals in the final five minutes and a 1-0 win over Brentwood Synergy on Rocklin Shumaker's free-kick goal. Trevor Gocke had the goal against Brentwood Select and Ben Kimble, Adam Ryan, Jaxon McClure and Drew Randolph scored in the second game when the late-trailing Express had to win by two to advance to the final. The Express 1997 boys coached by Dean Wilson won a TSSA Division II title by downing Brentwood Select 4-0, Lakeway Legacy 6-1 and Stones River FC Rapids 4-2. It was the seventh state championship for a Wilson-coached team.

* BRISTOL, Tenn. - King College, now an NCAA Division II school, sent the Tennessee Temple men's soccer season to a crashing halt Monday with a 19-1 victory in the first round of the National Christian College Athletic Association Mid-East Region tournament. Tom Winspear and Zach Caracciolo each had four goals and two assists and Joe Mayer scored three goals for the Tornado (6-11-1). Timothy Ward scored for Temple (4-14) on a corner kick in the final minute. Temple's Lady Crusaders will face top-seeded Campbellsville in the women's regional Friday at 4 p.m. at Campbellsville, Ky., with No. 2 seed Covenant (10-6-1) facing third-seeded King at 6:30 in a matchup of longtime NAIA conference rivals that moved to different NCAA divisions. Covenant edged Campbellsville 1-0 on Sept. 4.


* University of Tennessee at Chattanooga freshman Kevin Malone won the heavyweight division of the King College Invitational wrestling tournament this past weekend. Malone and other Mocs freshmen were wrestling unattached. Sam Kuntz was fifth at 197 pounds and Jon Salada sixth at 184, and Trey Stavrum went 2-2 at 157. UTC's Joe DeAngelo (125) and Robert Prigmore (197) wrestled in North Carolina State's Wolfpack Open.

Auto Racing

* Leonard Lawson from Chatsworth won the $1,000 top prize in the Super Pro class Saturday at the one-eighth-mile Brainerd Optimist Drag Strip. Lawson won with a 4.82-second burst on a 4.80 dial in a new Mullis dragster powered by a modified Chrysler 451-cubic-inch engine with injected alcohol. That was good for the low elapsed time and top speed of 149.52 mph for the meet. Billy Rolen of Sweetwater was second with a breakout 5.96 run on a 5.98 dial in his 1968 Camaro Z-28, and Michael McEntire from Atlanta and Craig Cash from East Ridge were third and fourth. Charles McRae of Rock Spring won the Foot Brake class with a 9.55 on a 9.53 in an '83 Mustang convertible, with Michael Garner second in a '90 Chevrolet pickup. First-year driver Christin Layne from Chattanooga went three rounds and had a perfect 7.70 on a 7.70 dial in her '78 Camaro RS.

Staff Reports