City races fill ballots in Grundy and Marion counties

Voters in 13 Tennessee towns in Grundy and Marion counties will elect new leaders on Nov. 6 ballots that are heavy with municipal races.

Elections officials in each county said they've had high turnout in early voting.

"It's every November we go through it," Marion County Election Administrator Gary Reames said Monday.

The county has seven city elections on its ballot.

A presidential race and all the city battles generate lots of interest, with Marion's hottest municipal races in Jasper and South Pittsburg, Reames said.

Grundy County Election Administrator Donna Basham said six of the county's towns have at least two seats on the November ballot.

The race for mayor and alderman in Monteagle is Grundy's hottest contest, she said, followed by Altamont's Board of Aldermen.

She said Marion and Grundy have worked together to make sure voters in the two-county town of Monteagle cast their ballots correctly.