Four being honored at Lee hall of fame dinner and more Chattanooga region sports news

Lee University will be inducting three members — Katie Nelson-Frazier, Tanner Moore and Gary Ray — and presenting a meritorious award to Gary Sharp on Friday.
photo Lee University's David Perez from Northwest Whitfield High School is the Gulf South Conference men's soccer player of the year.

Lee University will be inducting three former athletes at the Cleveland school into its athletic hall of fame Friday and presenting the meritorious award to Gary Sharp, who has been a member of the board of directors since 1994 and chairman since 2010. The inductees are Katie Nelson-Frazier for women's basketball (2007-10), Tanner Moore for baseball (2009-10) and Gary Ray for distinguished service. Ray played basketball for the then-Vikings (1977-81), was a basketball assistant coach (1985-87) and briefly the head tennis coach (1987) and was Lee's chief enrollment officer from 1990 to 2010 and a vice president from 2000 to 2010. Moore was an NAIA All-American in 2010 when he batted .379 with 77 RBIs and school records of 22 home runs and 186 total bases. He also was a Gold Glove and academic award winner. Nelson was an NAIA and WBCA first-team All-American in 2010, and she is the Lady Flames' No. 2 all-time rebounder (1,045) and No. 4 scorer (2,096) and was a four-time all-conference player and player of the year in 2010. During Sharp's time as the first layman to serve as board chairman, the school has completed the Chapel, New Hughes Hall, three townhouse units, the Communication Arts building, Pangle Hall, the School of Nursing building, the School of Business building and the South Campus Quad transformation. Sharp also is on the property acquisition, construction surveillance and directors' finance and budget committees, and he and his wife donated the lead gift for Sharp-Davis Hall, a women's dorm named in honor of his parents. The induction event will begin at 5 p.m. Friday on campus in the Administration Building's Centenary Room.


* Lee University had the Gulf South Conference women's soccer coach of the year in Chris Hennessey, the men's player of the year in David Perez, four women's first-team all-conference players, another men's first-teamer in goalkeeper Tom Halsall and second-team selections Jon Finlay and Gabe Franco. The first-team All-GSC Lady Flames are defenders Meagan Newman and Laura Thacker, midfielder Kinsey Cichowitz and forward Summer Lanter, who's from Soddy-Daisy. Hennessey is an interim coach who takes the Lady Flames into the GSC tournament as the second seed with an 11-4-2 overall record and a 10-2 league mark. Perez, from Northwest Whitfield, has 15 goals and five assists for the Flames, ranking in the NCAA Division II top 10 in both goals and points. Lanter has nine goals and three assists.

* Dalton State goalkeeper Diego Gonzalez was the Southern States Athletic Conference men's soccer defensive player of the week after recording the shutout in the 1-0 win over Bethel that secured the No. 5 seed in the conference tournament for the Roadrunners. Gonzalez, who made five saves in that match, leads the SSAC with a 0.82 goals-against average.


* University of Tennessee at Chattanooga libero Catherine Chason was the Southern Conference volleyball defensive player of the week after making 17 digs at Mercer and 26 against Wofford in the Mocs' two wins last week. Now 20-4 overall and 9-2 in the SoCon, they play Wednesday night at Samford and host The Citadel and Furman in 6 p.m. matches Friday and Saturday.

* Sonoraville High School's Emalie Hicks and Savannah Wilbanks were named to the Georgia Volleyball Coaches' Association's Class AAA all-state team after leading the Phoenix to 41 wins and their fourth area championship in a row. Hicks led all of AAA in kills this season with 435, and Wilbanks led the classification with a school-record 837 assists. Selected to the Georgia Senior All-Star match, Wilbanks also has the program high of 1,503 career assists.


* The Georgia Northwestern women's basketball team had a tough first quarter and lost their season opener to the Truett-McConnell junior varsity Monday at the Rossville Athletic Center, 55-42. It was 19-6 after the first period. GNTC's Katy Phillips scored a game-high 15 points and freshman classmate Madison Lewis added 12. Katie Leach led the winners with 13.


* UTC junior wrestler Scottie Boykin won his 197-pound match Sunday at the NWCA All-Star Classic in Atlanta. Boykin beat fellow nationally ranked Army senior Bryce Barnes 15-10. Boykin is ranked 15th, Barnes 18th. The other UTC wrestler participating in the All-Star Classic undercard was freshman Kamaal Shakur, who lost 7-6 to North Carolina State's Chad Pike. Shakur led 6-2 after the first period.