Watson named TN Senate Finance Committee chairman

Sen. Bo Watson, R-Hixson

NASHVILLE - Sen. Bo Watson, R-Hixson, will lead the Tennessee Senate's powerful Finance Committee as its chairman, Senate Speaker Randy McNally announced this morning.

Watson replaces McNally, who was elected the Senate's new speaker on Tuesday.

Sen. Todd Gardenhire, R-Chattanooga, will continue to serve as vice chairman of the Education Committee.

Meanwhile, Sen. Paul Bailey, R-Cookeville, was named the chairman of the Transportation Committee. Bailey replaces Sen. Jim Tracy, R-Shelbyville.