Chattanooga firefighters recognized with 'Governor's Certificate' for Woodmore response

Chattanooga firefighters who responded to the Woodmore Bus Crash were recognized for their efforts by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security has recognized Chattanooga firefighters who responded to the Woodmore bus crash on Nov. 21, 2016, for their efforts.

At the First Responder Recognition Ceremony, which is held every year on the anniversary of the 9/11 attacks, Homeland Security Commissioner David Purkey presented the "Governor's Certificate" award to Captain Keith Liles and eight other firefighters who were able to make the trip to the state capitol.

The recognition is normally reserved for one first responder, but in this case they made an exception.

"Even knowing the gravity of what they were dealing with, the firefighters fell back on their training and stayed focused until the job was done. As a result, many other children on that bus were saved due to the heroic actions of the firefighters, and the support they received from EMS and police," Purkey said before presenting the firefighters with the certificate.

Here is a list of all the firefighters who were involved in the fire department's response to the Woodmore Bus Crash:

  • Captain Keith Liles
  • Captain David Tallent
  • Captain Al Walker
  • Lt. Ronnie Goss,
  • FFE Keith Edgemon
  • FF Brandon Fryar
  • FF Charles Zinzer
  • FF Jeffery Bonner
  • Capt John Lehman
  • Capt Richie Taylor
  • Capt Al Walker
  • Capt Michael Montieth
  • Lt. Justin Vice
  • Lt. Ronnie Goss
  • Lt. Jonathan Higgins
  • FFS Terrance Watkins
  • FFE Keith Edgemon
  • FF William Crackel
  • FF Edgar Patton
  • FF Jeffery Bonner
  • Capt Keith Liles
  • Capt Will Andrews
  • Capt Travis Williams
  • B/C Nate Middlebrooks
  • FFS Avery Hubbard
  • Capt Dusty Rose
  • Capt David Tallent
  • B/C Chris Willmore
  • FF Brandon Fryar
  • Lt. Jason Rains
  • B/C Chris Warren
  • FF Charles Zinzer
  • Lt. Fred Edgemon
  • FFS Jack Thompson
  • FFE Engineer Andrew Womac