Tennessee's Rick Barnes, Grant Williams win top SEC honors

Tennessee men's basketball coach Rick Barnes talks to fans as athletic director Phillip Fulmer, right, looks on after the Vols beat Georgia on Saturday in Knoxville to earn a share of the SEC's regular-season championship.

KNOXVILLE - All three of the Southeastern Conference men's basketball coaches who have coached at Tennessee received votes from the Associated Press panel charged with selecting the league's coach of the year.

It was the man who currently dons Tennessee orange who received the most.

Rick Barnes was announced as SEC coach of the year Tuesday as the No. 13 Volunteers capped a successful regular season with a strong showing in postseason awards decided by the AP and the SEC coaches.

The Vols' Grant Williams was voted SEC player of the year by the coaches and named to the All-SEC first team by Associated Press voters. Barnes was also voted coach of the year by his colleagues. Georgia forward Yante Maten was voted player of the year by the AP panel.

Tennessee redshirt sophomore guard Lamonte Turner was named the league's co-sixth man of the year by the coaches, and junior forward Admiral Schofield earned All-SEC second-team honors. Another second-teamer was Kentucky's Shai Gilgeous-Alexander from Hamilton Heights in Chattanooga, also an all-freshman choice.

The Vols (23-7) begin postseason play at 7 p.m. EST Friday in St. Louis in the quarterfinal round of the SEC tournament. They will play the winner of Thursday's game between Mississippi State and LSU.

Barnes received 10 of 15 possible votes in the AP balloting with four votes going to Auburn coach Bruce Pearl, who coached the Vols from 2005 to 2011. First-year Missouri coach Cuonzo Martin also received a vote. He coached Tennessee from 2011 to 2014.

In his third year leading Tennessee, Barnes took a team picked by media to finish 13th in the SEC to the regular-season co-championship with Pearl's Auburn team. Auburn and Tennessee are the top two seeds in the conference tournament, which begins tonight.

Williams, a sophomore forward, led Tennessee by averaging 15.6 points per game during the regular season. It was arguably Schofield who was most important to the Vols down the stretch as they stayed in contention for a league title. Schofield finished the regular season averaging 13.5 points per game and was named SEC co-player of the week the last two weeks of the regular season.

Turner averaged 10.6 points during the regular season and hit numerous clutch shots, including three 3-pointers in the final 11 minutes of last Saturday's 66-61 win over Georgia that clinched the co-championship for Tennessee.

Contact David Cobb at dcobb@timesfreepress.com. Follow him on Twitter @DavidWCobb and on Facebook at facebook.com/volsupdate.

Here is the full list of awards, as voted on by the league's 14 coaches:

First Team All-SEC

Jaylen Barford, Arkansas

Chris Chiozza, Florida

Yante Maten, Georgia

Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Kassius Robertson, Missouri

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Grant Williams, Tennessee

Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC

Collin Sexton, Alabama

Daryl Macon, Arkansas

Bryce Brown, Auburn

Jared Harper, Auburn

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss. State

Admiral Schofield, Tennessee

Jeff Roberson, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team

Collin Sexton, Alabama

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky

Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Nick Weatherspoon, Miss. State

Jontay Porter, Missouri

TJ Starks, Texas A&M

All-Defensive Team

Donta Hall, Alabama

Anfernee McLemore, Auburn

Chris Chiozza, Florida

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Tennessee

Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Juwan Parker, Georgia

Co-Freshman of the Year: Collin Sexton, Alabama & Kevin Knox, Kentucky

Co-Sixth-Man of the Year: Jontay Porter, Missouri & Lamonté Turner, Tennessee

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Silva, South Carolina & Robert Williams, Texas A&M