Florida wins 12th straight SEC All-Sports title

University of Florida baseball coach Kevin O'Sullivan led his program to another SEC title this past weekend, helping the school wrap up another SEC All-Sports Award.

SEC All-Sports

1. Florida2. Georgia3. Texas A&M4. Arkansas5. South Carolina6. Auburn7. Tennessee8. Kentucky9. Alabama10. LSU11. Vanderbilt12. Ole Miss13. Mississippi14. Missouri

The University of Florida continues to top the Southeastern Conference in athletics.

By winning league titles this past weekend in baseball, men's track and field, and women's track and field, Florida has won the SEC All-Sports Award for a 12th consecutive year and for the 26th time in 27 years. The Gators also won conference championships this school year in softball, men's swimming and volleyball.

"The level of competition across Southeastern Conference sports is so challenging, with many league teams contending for national titles," Florida athletic director Scott Stricklin said in a release. "To win the SEC All-Sports trophy is a credit to the efforts of our coaches and the Gator athletes."

Florida outdistanced Georgia to win the overall title, with Texas A&M, Arkansas and South Carolina rounding out the top five. Auburn was sixth, followed by Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, LSU, Vanderbilt, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Missouri.

In men's sports only, Florida finished first, with Texas A&M, Auburn, Georgia and Arkansas rounding out the top five. Georgia won the women's title to prevent Florida from making a clean sweep.

The SEC's All-Sports Award used to be called the Bernie Moore All-Sports Award, with Alabama winning the inaugural honor for 1973-74. Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, LSU and Tennessee each won at least one all-sports award before Florida began its unprecedented run in 1991-92.

Contact David Paschall at [email protected] or 423-757-6524.