Four Hamilton County Commission races decided in primary election

One incumbent lost his seat Tuesday as voters went to the polls for Hamilton County Commission primary elections.

Longtime Soddy-Daisy City Commissioner Gene-o Shipley beat the incumbent District 1 commissioner of eight years, Randy Fairbanks of Soddy-Daisy, and business owner and educator Stacy Swallows, of Sale Creek, in the District 1 Republican primary election.

Shipley could not be reached for comment.

District 1 covers Soddy-Daisy, Sale Creek, Sequoyah, Falling Water and Dallas.

Shipley won despite Fairbanks significantly outraising his opponents with $66,200, compared to Shipley's $10,500 and Swallows' $12,100.

Real estate agent and East Ridge Vice Mayor Mike Chauncey beat East Ridge resident Tucker McClendon, who's served as chairman of the Hamilton County school board for the past year, in the District 8 Republican primary.

"I can't tell you how proud I am," said Chauncey, who was at home with his wife and daughter as the final results came in Tuesday.