Artists chosen to design Fallen Five memorial

An artist rendering of "Wreath of Honor"
photo An artist rendering of "Wreath of Honor"
photo An artist rendering of "Wreath of Honor"

Houston artists Shane Albritton and Norman Lee of Re:site Studio have been chosen to design the permanent memorial to honor Chattanooga's Fallen Five who were killed during a domestic terror attack on July 16, 2015.

photo An artist rendering of "Wreath of Honor"

Their "Wreath of Honor" design was selected from submissions by three semi-finalists chosen last year to bid for the $750,000 commission.

"The selection panel was presented with three exceptional design proposals. However, "Wreath of Honor" stood out for its timeless design and uplifting spirit," Katelyn Kirnie, Chattanooga's Director of Public Art wrote in an emailed statement. "We anticipate a ground breaking for the Memorial on July 16, 2018 and dedication of the completed memorial on July 16, 2019."

The memorial will be built along the Tennessee River by the Hubert Fry Center near the site of the second shooting in the attack to commemorate the servicemen killed that day: Gunnery Sgt. Thomas J. Sullivan, Staff Sgt. David A. Wyatt, Sgt. Carson A. Holmquist, and Lance Cpl. Squire K. "Skip" Wells; and U.S. Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Randall J. Smith.

"The suspended wreath creates a powerful gesture that marks the Riverpark site made sacred by the attacks that occurred on July 16, 2015, at the nearby US Navy Operational Support Center, but also by the tremendous acts of kindness, support and strength that occurred following July 16th," said artist Norman Lee regarding the inspiration behind the piece.