Skip to main content
Monday, November 2, 2026Nov 2

This story is free to read.

State reminds about burn permits ahead of wildfire season

A tower of smoke pours from Cow Mountain as Burney, California firefighter Bob May keeps a watch on surrounding vegetation for spot fires during a wildfire off Scotts Valley Road, Thursday, Aug. 2, 2018, near Lakeport, Calif. (Kent Porter /The Press Democrat via AP)
A tower of smoke pours from Cow Mountain as Burney, California firefighter Bob May keeps a watch on surrounding vegetation for spot fires during a wildfire off Scotts Valley Road, Thursday, Aug. 2, 2018, near Lakeport, Calif. (Kent Porter /The Press Democrat via AP) A tower of smoke pours from Cow Mountain as Burney, California firefighter Bob May keeps a watch on surrounding vegetation for spot fires during a wildfire off Scotts Valley Road, Thursday, Aug. 2, 2018, near Lakeport, Calif. (Kent Porter /The Press Democrat via AP)

NASHVILLE – Forestry officials are reminding Tennessee residents about burn permit rules ahead of the official start of the state’s wildfire season.

The state Division of Forestry says getting a burn permit is free, but there are rules.

The division’s online system accepts permit applications for burning a leaf or brush pile smaller than 8 feet by 8 feet in size. Larger burns require a call to the forestry division.

More than 300,000 permits are issued in Tennessee each year. Burning without a permit is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine. Wildfires caused by arson are punishable by three to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Tennessee’s forestry division says wildfire season begins Oct. 15.

Information can be found at www.BurnSafeTN.org.

In addition to a forestry permit, Hamilton County residents will need to obtain a burning permit from the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Air Pollution Control Bureau.

The charge is either $10 or $60, depending on where you live in the county. More information is available at www.apcb.org or by calling 423-643-5970.