What you need to know for Tuesday's Chattanooga runoff election

Staff photo by Troy Stolt / Brenda Woodruff and Annie Milner cast their early votes for Chattanooga's Municipal Run-Off Election at the Brainerd Rec. Center on Wednesday, March 24, 2021 in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Chattanooga's three undecided municipal elections will be decided Tuesday, with runoffs for mayor and two open city council seats. Polls will be open to registered city voters from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. Here's what you need to know to vote:

What's on the ballot?

During the city's March 2 general election, the mayor's seat and each of the nine city council seats were open at the end of their four-year terms. Of those 10 seats, the mayoral, District 2 and District 5 elections entered runoffs after no candidate received more than 50% of the vote, which is the threshold to win outright in the general election.

Now, business owner Tim Kelly and former River City Co. President and CEO Kim White are facing off to replace outgoing Mayor Andy Berke, who will leave office next week.

Kelly and White were the two top vote-getting candidates in the field of 15 originally appearing on the ballot for the seat.

In District 2, Hamilton County Board of Education member Jenny Hill and business owner Thomas Lee are competing to represent the council district as Councilman Jerry Mitchell prepares to retire.

Hill and Lee were the two top vote-getters in the race of three candidates originally vying for the District 2 seat, which represents neighborhoods including North Chattanooga and Riverview.

In District 5, Hamilton County Democratic Party Vice Chairman Dennis Clark and Pastor Isiah Hester are in a race to replace Councilman Russell Gilbert, who was defeated in the general mayoral election.

Clark and Hester were the two top candidates in a race of five vying for the District 5 seat, which represents neighborhoods including Bonny Oaks and Dalewood.

Each of the people elected will begin a four-year term beginning after their inauguration on April 19.

(MORE INFO: TimesFreePress.com/voter-guide)

Where can you vote?


Shepherd YFD Center

2124 Shepherd Road, Chattanooga

Alton Park 1, 2 and 3

The Bethlehem Center

200 W. 38th St., Chattanooga


VFW Post 4848

2402 Amnicola Highway, Chattanooga


Avondale YFD Center

1305 Dodson Ave., Chattanooga

Bonny Oaks

Washington Hills YFD Center

4628 Oakwood Drive, Chattanooga


Brainerd Baptist Crossroads (BX)

4011 Austin St., Chattanooga

Brainerd Hills

Alhambra Shrine Temple

1000 Alhambra Drive, Chattanooga


Carver YFD Center

600 N. Orchard Knob Ave., Chattanooga

Concord 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7

Concord Baptist

7025 E. Brainerd Road, Chattanooga

Courthouse 1 & 2

Olivet Baptist (Kingdom Center)

730 E. M.L. King Blvd., Chattanooga


New Hope Baptist

3777 Wilcox Blvd., Chattanooga

Downtown 1, 2 and 3

Dogwood Manor Community Room

959 Gateway Ave., Chattanooga


The Gathering

4445 Hixson Pike, Hixson

Courthouse 1 and 2

Olivet Baptist (Kingdom Center)

730 E. M.L. King Blvd., Chattanooga


New Hope Baptist

3777 Wilcox Blvd., Chattanooga

Downtown 1, 2 and 3

Dogwood Manor Community Room

959 Gateway Ave. Chattanooga

East Brainerd 1 & 2

Covenant Presbyterian

8451 E. Brainerd Road, Chattanooga

East Chattanooga 1 & 2

East Chattanooga YFD Center

2409 Dodson Ave., Chattanooga

East Lake

East Lake Community Center (Senior Center)

3208 15th Ave., Chattanooga


Eastdale YFD Center

1312 Moss St., Chattanooga

Eastgate 1 and 2

New Covenant Fellowship

1326 N. Moore Road, Chattanooga

Eastside 1 and 2

Hutton Gym

1800 Vance Ave., Chattanooga


Middle Valley Church of God

1703 Thrasher Pike, Hixson


Glenwood YFD Center

2610 E. Third St., Chattanooga

Harrison 1, 2 and 6

Harrison Ruritan Club

5709 Tyner Lane, Harrison

Harrison 7

Bayside Baptist

6100 Highway 58, Harrison

Hixson 1, 2 and 3

Hixson First Baptist

5800 Grubb Road, Hixson

Kingspoint 1, 2 and 3

Oakwood Baptist (Gym)

4501 Bonny Oaks Drive, Chattanooga

Lake Hills

Northminster Presbyterian

4791 Hal Drive, Chattanooga

Lookout Valley 1

John A Patten YFD Center

3202 Kellys Ferry Road, Chattanooga

Lupton City

Lupton Drive Baptist

859 Lupton Drive, Chattanooga

Missionary Ridge

Missionary Ridge Neighborhood Association

36 Sheridan Ave., Chattanooga

Moccasin Bend

North Chattanooga YFD Center

406 May St., Chattanooga

Mountain Creek 1 and 3

Mountain Creek Church of Christ

985 Runyan Drive, Chattanooga

Murray Hills 1 and 2

St Thaddaeus Episcopal

4300 Locksley Lane, Chattanooga

North Chattanooga 1 and 2

Knights of Columbus

313 Sylvan St., Chattanooga

Northgate 1 and 2

Stuart Heights Baptist North Campus

1505 Cloverdale Dr., Hixson

Northwoods 1, 2 and 3

Calvary Baptist

5201 Dayton Blvd., Chattanooga

Ooltewah 1 and 2

Eastwood Church (Gym)

4300 Ooltewah Ringgold Road, Ooltewah

Ooltewah 3 and 4

Seventh-Day Adventist (Fellowship Center)

9209 Amos Road, Ooltewah

Pleasant Grove 1

Pleasant Grove Baptist

7634 Gann Road, Hixson

Red Bank 1

Disabled American Veterans Chapter 6

619 Memorial Drive, Chattanooga

Red Bank 2

Red Bank Lion's Club

3704 Dayton Blvd., Chattanooga

Red Bank 3

Red Bank Cumberland Presbyterian

115 Morrison Springs Road, Chattanooga

Ridgedale 1 and 2

Hutton Gym

1800 Vance Ave., Chattanooga


Northside Presbyterian

923 Mississippi Ave., Chattanooga

St Elmo 1 and 2

South Chatt YFD Center

1151 W. 40th St., Chattanooga

Stuart Heights

Rivermont Presbyterian

3319 Hixson Pike, Chattanooga

Summit 1, 3 and 4

Silverdale Cumberland Presbyterian

7407 Bonny Oaks Drive, Chattanooga

Tyner 1, 2 and 3

Tyner-East Brainerd YFD Center (Gym)

6900 Ty Hi Drive, Chattanooga

Westview 1

Morris Hill Baptist Church (Gym)

1804 Morris Hill Road, Chattanooga

Woodmore 1 and 2

Brainerd YFD Center

1010 N. Moore Road, Chattanooga

What do I need to bring?

All voters must present a federal or Tennessee state identification with the voter's name and photograph. These IDs are acceptable:

> Tennessee driver's license with photo

> United States passport

> Photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security

> Photo ID issued by the federal or Tennessee state government

> United States military photo ID

The Hamilton County Election Commission also encourages voters to follow these COVID-19 safety protocols when voting in person:

> Wear a face mask.

> Practice social distancing.

> Bring hand sanitizer.

> Bring a blue or black ink pen, although officials also will have single-use ink pens on hand.

Contact Sarah Grace Taylor at staylor@timesfreepress.com or 423-757-6416. Follow her on Twitter @_sarahgtaylor.