published Sunday, May 8th, 2011

8 more Georgia counties get disaster assistance

ATLANTA — Eight Georgia counties have been added to the list of those eligible for federal assistance to recover from damage suffered in the April 27 storms, according to a news release.

The newest counties are Cherokee, Gordon, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lumpkin, Newton and White. They join Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Greene, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, Walker and White counties.

The designation means the Federal Emergency Management Agency will pay 75 percent of the cost for some cleanup and recovery activities, including debris removal, repairs to roads, bridges, public buildings and utilities, and emergency protective measures.

Qualified private nonprofit organizations may receive assistance to restore certain kinds of facilities. These include utilities; educational, emergency, medical, and custodial care facilities; and other structures used to provide essential governmental services.

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

Comments do not represent the opinions of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, nor does it review every comment. Profanities, slurs and libelous remarks are prohibited. For more information you can view our Terms & Conditions and/or Ethics policy.
please login to post a comment

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.