AUGUSTA, Ga. — Tiger Woods has been assessed a two-shot penalty for taking an improper drop on the 15th hole Friday.
Woods, who as a result of the infraction signed an incorrect scorecard, was not disqualified because of Rule 33-7, a recent rule that allows the rules committee of a tournament to assess a penalty rather than disqualify a player because of the increased technology covering the tournaments.
Woods is scheduled to tee off at 1:45 p.m., and is now 1 under, five shots behind leader Jason Day.
Read more on this story at timesfreepress.com and in Sunday’s Times Free Press.
Jay was named the Sports Editor of the Times Free Press in 2003 and started with the newspaper in May 2002 as the Deputy Sports Editor. He was born and raised in Smyrna, Ga., and graduated from Auburn University before starting his newspaper career in 1997 with the Newnan (Ga.) Times Herald. Stops in Clayton and Henry counties in Georgia and two years as the Sports Editor of the Marietta (Ga.) Daily Journal preceded Jay’s ...