published Tuesday, April 8th, 2014

Eight area girls named to TSWA all-state basketball teams

Eight girls from the Chattanooga area have been named to the 2014 Tennessee Sports Writers Association all-state basketball teams.

Meigs County's Emileigh Swafford is the lone area player on the Class A team, while Brainerd's Jamee Ward, McMinn Central's Jacobi Lynn and Sequatchie County's Keely Frederick made the AA team. Bradley Central's Brooke Copeland and Rebecca Reuter are on the AAA team, while Baylor's Kaleigh Clemons and GPS's Akia Harris are on the Division II team.

TSWA Girls' All-State Basketball Teams

Class A

Jaycee Coe (Jackson County), Cariona Hassell (Goodpasture), Mendy McNeese (North Greene), Averyale Joy (Middleton), Rachel Lee (Jackson Christian), Deja Faulkner (Middleton), Chole Roberts (Scotts Hill), Courtney Wilson (Cloudland), Lauren Hensley (Grace Christian), Derica Wiggins (Oakhaven), Emileigh Swafford (Meigs County), Anna Beal (Houston County), Ashlynd Wilkerson (Middle Tenn. Christian), Cheyenne Shaver (Clarkrange), Brittany Cooper (Clarkrange).

Class AA

Abbey Sissom (Cannon County), Rachel Bell (Creek Wood), Allison Hodge (Grainger), Tiffany Rechis (Westview), Adi Hale (Lexington), Keke McKinney (Fulton), Anna Hammaker (Christian Acad. of Knoxville), Andi Lamb (Chuckey-Doak), Kayla Marosites (Elizabethton), Callie Hackett (Smith County), Manaya Jones (Raleigh-Egypt), Jamee Ward (Brainerd), Jacobi Lynn (McMinn Central), Keely Frederick (Sequatchie County).

Class AAA

Alexa Middleton (Riverdale), Crystal Dangerfield (Blackman), Keiana Gilbert (Columbia Central), Falon Baker (Beech), Tianna Tarter (Science Hill), Gabby Lyon (Science Hill), Sally McCabe (Mount Juliet), Mika Wester (Cocke County), Brooke Copeland (Bradley Central), Rebecca Reuter (Bradley Central), Brittany Tarr (Sevier County), Brandi Beasley (Ridgeway), Jaida Roper (Houston), Shelbie Davenport (Riverdale), Meme Jackson (Blackman), Alex Johnson (Blackman), Janie White (Rossview).

Division II

Micah Sheetz (Knoxville Webb), Emily Lythe (Evangelical Christian), Kaylan Pugh (St. Mary's), Jasmine Cincore (Briarcrest), Kennesha Nichols (Ensworth), Kennedy Potts (Harpeth Hall), Anna Jones (USJ), Kyndal Hale (Pope John Paul II), Elise Holden (Briarcrest), Brynn Holden (Briarcrest), Kimberlee Keltner (Northpoint), Ashtyn Baker (Northpoint), Kaleigh Clemons (Baylor), Allison Cowie (Battlle Ground Acad.), Akia Harris (GPS), Katie Collier (Knoxville Webb).

about Stephen Hargis...

Stephen has covered local sports in the tri-state area for more than 24 years, having been with the Times Free Press since its inception, and has been an assistant sports editor since 2005. Stephen is among the most decorated writers in the TFP’s newsroom, winning numerous state, regional and national writing awards, including seven in 2013 and a combined 12 in the last two years. He was named one of the top 10 sports writers ...

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.