published Tuesday, August 12th, 2014

Luther Masingill, Bob Johnson among 6 named to Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame

  • photo
    Luther Masingill, 90, sits in his recording studio between his microphone and his typewriter, which he uses to type up manuscripts at WDEF.
    Photo by Jake Daniels.
    enlarge photo

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. — Six journalists have been named to the Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame at Middle Tennessee State University.

They are:

Joe Birch, veteran anchor with WMC in Memphis; Bob Johnson, retired news anchor of WTVC in Chattanooga; Alex Jones, Pulitzer Prize-winning author, National Public Radio host and lecturer; Luther Masingill, veteran broadcaster at WDEF radio and television in Chattanooga; Otis Sanford, veteran editor with The Commercial Appeal in Memphis; and Sam Venable, columnist for the Knoxville News Sentinel.

The Tennessee Journalism Hall of Fame is housed inside the John Bragg Mass Communication Building.

about Associated Press...

The Associated Press

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.