Chattanooga Now ACM Awards air Sunday on CBS

Chattanooga Now ACM Awards air Sunday on CBS

March 30th, 2012 by Staff Report in Chattnow Music

Expect to hear some familiar names at the Academy of Country Music awards show Sunday. It will air live from Las Vegas starting at 8 p.m. on CBS with Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton as hosts.

Winners of radio awards have already been announced, and Chattanooga's WUSY-FM was named the ACM's Radio Station of the Year - Small Market. Winners in radio are to receive their awards at a Las Vegas reception Saturday.

The station's morning personalities, Bearman and Ken, were nominated for On-Air Personality of the Year - Small Market.


• The Alabama band is included in Brad Paisley's nod for Vocal Event of the Year for "Old Alabama."

• Nathan Chapman, who graduated from Lee University, is a nominee for Producer of the Year.

• Matraca Berg, who has family on Signal Mountain, is up for Song of the Year, a songwriting award, for "You and Tequila," recorded by Kenny Chesney, featuring Grace Potter. Berg co-wrote the song with Deana Carter.

• Rascal Flatts is nominated for Vocal Group of the Year. Member Jay DeMarcus attended Lee in 1990-93.


Entertainer of the Year: Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year: Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, Chris Young

Female Vocalist of the Year: Sara Evans, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year: Montgomery Gentry, Love and Theft, Steel Magnolia, Sugarland, Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year: The Band Perry, Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Rascal Flatts, Zac Brown Band

New Artist of the Year: Brantley Gilbert, Hunter Hayes, Scotty McCreery

Album of the Year: "Chief," Eric Church; "Four The Record," Miranda Lambert; "Hemingway's Whiskey," Kenny Chesney; "My Kinda Party," Jason Aldean; "Own the Night," Lady Antebellum

Single Record of the Year (award to artist): "Crazy Girl," Eli Young Band; "Don't You Wanna Stay," Jason Aldean with Kelly Clarkson; "Red Solo Cup," Toby Keith; "Tomorrow," Chris Young; "You And Tequila," Kenny Chesney featuring Grace Potter