Lottery Stabilization Task Force formed

Lottery Stabilization Task Force formed

August 1st, 2011 by Andy Sher in Local - Breaking News

Senate Speaker Ron Ramsey speaks to reporters in his office in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, March 22, 2011. (AP Photo/Erik Schelzig)

NASHVILLE - State Senate Speaker Ron Ramsey today appointed five senators, including Senate Speaker Pro Tem Bo Watson, R-Hixson, to the Senate Lottery Stabilization Task Force.

The panel will review current policies and pending legislation in order to make recommendations aimed at ensuring long-term viability of Tennessee's HOPE scholarship program.

According to a news release from Ramsey, R-Blountville, the goal is to "reverse the negative trajectory of the program and not deplete the lottery reserves which allow future students access to the program."

A task force report, due Dec. 1, will outline a "path" to return the program to long-term viability.

Other panel members are Senate Finance Committee Chairman Randy McNally, R-Oak Ridge; Finance Committee Vice Chairman Douglas Henry, D-Nashville, and Sen. Reginald Tate, D-Memphis.