Bama picked to win SEC

Bama picked to win SEC

July 22nd, 2011 by David Paschall in Local - Breaking News

HOOVER, Ala. - Alabama has been picked to win the 2011 Southeastern Conference football championship.

The league released its media voting this morning, and the Crimson Tide received 98 votes. Fellow West Division members LSU and Arkansas finished a distant second and third with 29 and 18 votes.

South Carolina was the pick to win a second consecutive East Division title, with the Gamecocks receiving 14 votes for the overall championship. Following South Carolina in the East voting were Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky and Vanderbilt.

Alabama was followed in the West by LSU, Arkansas, Mississippi State, defending national champion Auburn and Ole Miss.

In the All-SEC voting, Tennessee had one first-team selection with defensive lineman Malik Jackson. Georgia had six first-team picks - quarterback Aaron Murray, tight end Orson Charles, offensive lineman Cordy Glenn, kicker Blair Walsh, punter Drew Butler and return specialist Brandon Boykin.

For more information, read Saturday's Times Free Press.