Matheny defeated in bid to keep No. 2 Tennessee House post

Matheny defeated in bid to keep No. 2 Tennessee House post

November 26th, 2012 by Andy Sher in Local - Breaking News

NASHVILLE - House Republican Caucus members today nominated Speaker Beth Harwell for a second term running the chamber.

But in a sharp contrast to that and other top members of leadership, none of whom faced opposition, Rep. Judd Matheny of Tullahoma was defeated in his re-election bid for the No. 2 post of speaker pro tempore.

Matheny, who earlier this year weighed a challenge to Harwell before deciding against it, was defeated by Rep. Curtis Johnson of Clarksville as the 70-member GOP caucus met for the first time following the Nov. 6 general election.

The elections were conducted by secret ballot and no totals provided.

The speaker and speaker pro tem positions will be elected by the full 99-member House in January. Democrats have only 28 members and there is one independent so Republicans are expected to make Harwell speaker again and elect Johnson to the No. 2 position.

In contrast to Matheny, Majority Leader Gerald McCormick of Chattanooga was unopposed for a second term. Meanwhile, Rep. Glen Casada of Franklin was elected without opposition to the vacant GOP caucus chairman slot.

Assistant Republican Leader Kevin Brooks of Cleveland was unopposed as well.

Rep. Vince Dean, R-East Ridge, chose not to seek reelection to the Republican floor leader post and Rep. Vance Dennis was unopposed in his election to succeed him.