Tiger Woods gets two-shot penalty for taking improper drop on the 15th hole Friday

Tiger Woods gets two-shot penalty for taking improper drop on the 15th hole Friday

April 13th, 2013 by Jay Greeson in Local - Breaking News

Tiger Woods tees off on the fourth hole during the second round of the Masters golf tournament Friday in Augusta, Ga.

Tiger Woods tees off on the fourth hole...

Photo by Associated Press /Times Free Press.

AUGUSTA, Ga. - Tiger Woods has been assessed a two-shot penalty for taking an improper drop on the 15th hole Friday.

Woods, who as a result of the infraction signed an incorrect scorecard, was not disqualified because of Rule 33-7, a recent rule that allows the rules committee of a tournament to assess a penalty rather than disqualify a player because of the increased technology covering the tournaments.

Woods is scheduled to tee off at 1:45 p.m., and is now 1 under, five shots behind leader Jason Day.

Read more on this story at timesfreepress.com and in Sunday's Times Free Press.