Tiger Woods gets two-shot penalty for taking improper drop on the 15th hole Friday

Tiger Woods gets two-shot penalty for taking improper drop on the 15th hole Friday

April 13th, 2013 by Jay Greeson in Local - Breaking News

Tiger Woods tees off on the fourth hole during the second round of the Masters golf tournament Friday in Augusta, Ga.

Photo by Associated Press/Times Free Press.

AUGUSTA, Ga. - Tiger Woods has been assessed a two-shot penalty for taking an improper drop on the 15th hole Friday.

Woods, who as a result of the infraction signed an incorrect scorecard, was not disqualified because of Rule 33-7, a recent rule that allows the rules committee of a tournament to assess a penalty rather than disqualify a player because of the increased technology covering the tournaments.

Woods is scheduled to tee off at 1:45 p.m., and is now 1 under, five shots behind leader Jason Day.

Read more on this story at timesfreepress.com and in Sunday's Times Free Press.