Wes Moore voted SoCon coach of the year

Wes Moore voted SoCon coach of the year

March 6th, 2013 by John Frierson in Local - Breaking News

Lady Mocs coach Wes Moore stresses the importance of rebounds to players during a recent game at McKenzie Arena.

Photo by Jake Daniels /Times Free Press.

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga women's basketball coach Wes Moore was voted Southern Conference coach of the year by the league's coaches and media, the SoCon announced today.

Moore has now received the postseason honor six times in his 15 seasons at UTC, which recently wrapped up its 12th SoCon regular-season title.

Lady Mocs center Ashlen Dewart and guard Kayla Christopher made the media's all-conference first team and the coaches' all-conference squad, along with forward Taylor Hall.

UTC guard Tatianna Jackson was also honored, making both all-freshman teams.

Davidson's Sophia Aleksandravicius was voted player of the year by the coaches and media.

For more Mocs coverage, see tomorrow's Times Free Press. You can also follow beat writer John Frierson on Twitter at twitter.com/mocsbeatCTFP.