Candidates file in LaFayette, Catoosa County

Candidates file in LaFayette, Catoosa County

October 4th, 2011 by Andy Johns in News

Fort Oglethorpe Public Works and Recreation Director Jeff Long stands in front of a map of the city in his office. Photo by Mike O'Neal

Fort Oglethorpe Public Works and Recreation Director Jeff...

Judd Burkhart

Judd Burkhart

A packed ballot in LaFayette, Ga., got a little more crowded after three men qualified for a special election last week.

In Catoosa County, two men who already had announced their candidacy for a County Commission seat formally turned in paperwork to run in the county's special election.

Keith Talley, Benjamin Bradford and Byron Montgomery filed forms at LaFayette City Hall to run for the City Council post left vacant by Norm Hodge, who resigned early this summer. Hodge has told other councilmen he stepped down because he is moving.

LaFayette already has nine candidates on the ballot for two contested seats.

Jerry Rogers, Stacey Suttle, Judy Meeks and Barry Hollis will compete in LaFayette's Ward 3. In Ward 4, voters will decide among Melvin Bridges, Christopher Scott Davis, Kevin Lee Robinson, Joe Daniel DeBoard and Donnie R. McGaha.

"I see a runoff in our future," said City Clerk Brenda Snyder.

In Catoosa County, election officials confirmed that Fort Oglethorpe Recreation Department Director Jeff Long and former Fort Oglethorpe Mayor Judd Burkhart are running for the County Commission seat vacated by Ken Marks.

Marks stepped down after seven years in office to run for mayor of Fort Oglethorpe against incumbent Lynn Long.

Connect with the Times Free Press on Facebook