Yusuf Hakeem announces City Council re-election bid

Published Oct. 25 2016

Yusuf Hakeem has announced he will seek re-election to the Chattanooga City Council District 9 seat.

Rep. Gerald McCormick closes door on Chattanooga mayor bid

Published Oct. 20 2016

Rep. Gerald McCormick, has confirmed he intends to stay in the Tennessee Assembly and not enter the Chattanooga mayor's race.

Jerry Mitchell announces Chattanooga City Council re-election bid

Published Oct. 19 2016

Jerry Mitchell has announced he will seek re-election to the Chattanooga City Council District 2 seat.


Commissioner's discretionary spending request ends with attack against his character and behavior

Published Oct. 19 2016

Hamilton County Commissioner Joe Graham's request to use $32,275 in discretionary commission money to replace windows at the John A....

Chattanooga City Council OKs affordable housing tax break for Chestnut Flats

Published Oct. 19 2016

The City Council has approved an affordable housing tax break for Chestnut Flats, a $20 million apartment project on Chattanooga's...

Students, legislators, teachers discuss state of education in Hamilton County [video]

Published Oct. 19 2016

After a tumultuous year for education in Hamilton County, a community of teachers, administrators, legislators and stakeholders from every part...

Beer sales may be coming soon to a Chattanooga movie theater near you

Published Oct. 18 2016

Beer sales may be coming soon to a movie theater near you, with the Chattanooga City Council potentially giving its...

Some Hamilton County commissioners consider overturning chairman election

Published Oct. 18 2016

Hamilton County commissioners might reconsider whether they want Chester Bankston to serve as the panel's chairman for the second year...

Republicans attack Bebe Heiskell for accepting too much money

Published Oct. 18 2016

Georgia Republicans on Monday filed a complaint against Walker County Commissioner Bebe Heiskell for accepting too much money from campaign...

Several Chattanooga community groups coordinate to transport voters to polls

Published Oct. 18 2016

For the first time in more than a decade, Orchard Knob Missionary Baptist Church will help transport people to cast...

Hamilton County Commission candidates spar over local support, schools

Published Oct. 17 2016

Both of the candidates vying for the open seat on the Hamilton County Commission described themselves tonight as conservatives and...

Group to continue handling social services side of program to curb gangs

Published Oct. 12 2016

The Chattanooga City Council has approved a new agreement with nonprofit Father to the Fatherless to continue to handle the...

Here's what the ballot will look like in Hamilton County and where you can vote

Published Oct. 10 2016

A sample of what the ballot will look like in Hamilton County for the Nov. 8 general election.

City Council asks leaders how to measure success of gang deterrence program

Published Oct. 5 2016

Chattanooga may continue its partnership with Father to the Fatherless, which has long provided social services for the Violence Reduction...

Political feud between two Georgia judges erupts with allegations of corruption

Published Oct. 5 2016

The loose seams holding a Georgia court system together gave way this week as an old political rivalry burst forth.

National Night Out aims to foster relationship between community, police

Published Oct. 5 2016

The Chattanooga Police Department Community Outreach Trailer pumped music into East Lake Park as First Bible Methodist Church members put...

Hamilton County Sheriff's Office to begin using drones for law enforcement [video]

Published Oct. 4 2016

The Hamilton County Sheriff's Office will begin using drones to gather evidence for court cases, detect bombs and find missing...

Mayor wants revamp of downtown Chattanooga's Miller Park to be a 'home run' [video]

Published Oct. 4 2016

Chattanooga Mayor Andy Berke says public feedback has resulted in some new features in a plan to recreate Miller Park.

Mayor calls allegations he purposely dodged records rules a 'blatantly partisan attack'

Published Oct. 3 2016

Chattanooga City Councilman Larry Grohn, who is running for mayor opposite incumbent Andy Berke, has accused Berke of using WhatsApp...

Erskine Oglesby seeks District 7 Chattanooga City Council seat

Published Oct. 1 2016

Erskine Oglesby Jr. announced Friday he will seek the District 7 seat on the Chattanooga City Council.

Former Republican leaders endorse Joe Smith for District 3 commission seat

Published Sep. 29 2016

Three former elected Hamilton County leaders, including former Mayor and Deputy Governor Claude Ramsey, have endorsed Joe Smith, the independent...

McCormick keeps door open on running for mayor in Chattanooga

Published Sep. 28 2016

Tennessee House Majority Leader Gerald McCormick says running against incumbent Chattanooga Mayor Andy Berke was the furthest thing from his...

Prospective North Georgia judges say current system inefficient, unfair

Published Sep. 28 2016

No matter who becomes Northwest Georgia's newest judge, he says he will make cases run faster and more fair.