Brown Middle School receives grants

Brown Middle School grant awards from the Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga have reached $100,000.

Brown Middle, a Title 1 school, has made significant academic gains over the past five years. The funding through the Capital Expenditure grants enabled Brown to fund new computers for each classroom teacher and the computer class.

The Community Foundation also funded "Reading Rocks," an initiative to improve students' reading by providing adolescent literature in classroom libraries.

The most recent grant award will provide localized mini-computer labs in four classrooms.

Henderson attends leadership event

William Chad Henderson, 17, a student at Ridgeland High School, attended the 2010 National Leadership Summit, sponsored by LeadAmerica, at Georgetown University in Washington D.C.

Middle- and high-school students with a record of academic achievement and extracurricular or community involvement, are invited to participate in the summer program.