Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union expands into 4 more North Georgia counties

Staff Photo by Matt Hamilton / Todd Fortner, president and CEO of the Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union, speaks at a new credit union branch location on Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2021.

Chattanooga's biggest credit union is expanding in Georgia.

Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union (TVFCU) has gained regulatory approval to expand its field of membership from 13 to 17 counties in the Chattanooga region. TVFCU is now able to serve anyone who lives, works, worships, volunteers or attends school in Chattooga, Gordon, Murray and Whitfield counties.

The move is the first expansion of the credit union's geographic footprint since it became a community chartered credit union in 2004. TVFCU began in 1936 to initially serve employees of the Tennessee Valley Authority and has made numerous acquisitions of other credit unions throughout its history.

"We are both humbled and delighted as we extend TVFCU's services to new communities across North Georgia," Todd Fortner, president and CEO of TVFCU, said in an announcement of the expansion in Northwest Georgia.