Vols dominate SEC baseball awards

Tennessee's dominance of Southeastern Conference baseball this season was reflected Monday when Tony Vitello was named the league's coach of the year, Chase Dollander pitcher of the year and Drew Beam freshman of the year.

The Volunteers had three first-team selections with Dollander, third baseman Trey Lipscomb and outfielder Drew Gilbert, while Beam and fellow freshman pitcher Chase Burns made the second team. The five overall selections were the most for Tennessee since six Vols were picked in 1994.

Vitello is the third in program history to be voted SEC coach of the year, joining S.W. Anderson in 1951 and Rod Delmonico, who won it back-to-back in the 1994-95 seasons. The Vols completed a 49-7 regular season and a 25-5 run through SEC play with Saturday's 10-5 victory at Mississippi State, winning the SEC East by 10 games and the overall title by six to set league margin records in both categories.