Wade Hinton a Presidential Leadership Scholar

Wade Hinton, city attorney and Benwood Foundation trustee, is one of 60 adults selected to participate in the 2017 class of Presidential Leadership Scholars.

The Scholars program is a leadership development initiative that draws upon the resources of presidential centers of George W. Bush, William J. Clinton, George H.W. Bush and Lyndon B. Johnson.

Scholars are selected based on leadership growth potential and the strength of their personal leadership projects aimed at improving the civic or social good by addressing a problem or need in a community, profession or organization.

Over several months, Scholars will travel to each participating presidential center to learn from these former presidents, key administration officials and leading academics. They will study then put into practice various approaches to leadership, develop a network of peers and exchange ideas with mentors who can help them make an impact in their communities.

Tyner robotics team place in state contest

Tyner Middle School's robotic team recently placed fifth overall in their first appearance at the Super Regional Robotics Tournament held on the campus of Georgia Tech in Atlanta.

For more than five months, Tyner Middle students worked with instructors from the Urban League's Project Ready STEM Academy to prepare for the competition. Tyner's team competed against hundreds of others from schools across Georgia and Tennessee.

Team members include Rayshaun Hinton, Braedan Adair, Justin Flannagan, Connor Lewis, Zarash Khan, David Hicks, Coebe Davis, Patrick LuAllen, Jackson White, JaKova Jones and Vitsael Madrigal.

Project Ready STEM Academy is an afterschool, summer and post-secondary National Achiever's Society Program. Offered at two Hamilton County middle schools, the STEM program is focused on reducing gaps in science, math and reading for minority and economically disadvantaged students.

some text
Alicia Moore, right, was named Walker County Chamber of Commerce Ambassador of the Year. At left is Shanda Reese Moore.
some text
P.R. Cook, chairman of the board of directors of the Walker County Chamber of Commerce, presents Cindy Scoggins the Chamber Member of the Year Award.

Walker Chamber Awards announced

Alicia Moore was named the Walker County Chamber of Commerce's Ambassador of the Year during the chamber's annual membership dinner at the Walker County Civic Center.

The award is selected based on involvement with the Ambassador Committee during the previous calendar year. Moore served on the gala committee and board of directors and assisted with the golf tournament and membership luncheons.

Cindy Scoggins, an employee of the Bank of LaFayette, was named Chamber Member of the Year. She was recognized for putting together chamber events such as the small business conference, co-chairing the gala committee, serving on the Senior Citizens Day committee and volunteering at the golf tournament. She is also a Chamber Ambassador.

Southern Hanger Boutique was named Small Business of the Year. Runners-up were Pie Slingers Pizzeria and Flegal Insurance.

Hamilton County EMS honors personnel

Hamilton County Emergency Medical Services presented awards to 17 of its emergency medical personnel for outstanding patient care and customer service. The awards were presented by Hamilton County Mayor Jim Coppinger, Hamilton County Emergency Medical Services Director Ken Wilkerson and Deputy Chief John Combes.

The Paramedic of the Year was presented to Wayne Allen Smith and the Advanced EMT Award was presented Scott Garrison. Paramedics Marc Puglise and Linda Kilgore and Field Lt. Greg Allen received the award for Medical Call of the Year.

Trauma Call of the Year was presented to nine HCEMS personnel for their dedication and heroism during the terrorist attack on Chattanooga in July 2015. They were paramedics Charles "Scobey" Newman, Blake Smith, Leeh Butcher and Allen Smith, Field Lieutenants Brian Gay and Chris Dill, along with Advanced EMTs Jamie Jackson and Brian Klasing. Each received plaques and ribbons.

Blue Ribbon Awards were presented to three HCEMS personnel for outstanding customer service: paramedics David Sinclair, Chris Van Alstyne and Aaron Howard.

With 134 employees and 14 emergency ambulances, HCEMS operates as the 911 provider for Hamilton County. Wilkerson says that, in 2016, HCEMS personnel responded to more than 34,000 alarms in addition to providing medical care to citizens.