AP file photo by Vasha Hunt / Alabama quarterback Bryce Young is the SEC's offensive player of the year in separate votes by coaches and media.

The University of Alabama football program once again collected a Southeastern Conference title and two big league-wide individual awards.

Crimson Tide quarterback Bryce Young is the SEC's offensive player of the year and linebacker Will Anderson Jr. is the top defensive player, as voted on by a panel of sports writers and broadcasters covering the league. The voting was released Wednesday.

Georgia's Kirby Smart is the pick as coach of the year after leading the Bulldogs to a 12-0 regular season and into the College Football Playoff. Bulldogs freshman tight end Brock Bowers is the selection as top newcomer after leading the team in receiving.

Anderson, Missouri tailback Tyler Badie and Alabama wide receiver Jameson Williams were the only unanimous picks. Anderson, the Bronco Nagurski winner as the nation's top defensive player, was named on some ballots as a defensive lineman/edge rusher.

He leads the nation in sacks and tackles for loss this season. Young is the Heisman Trophy favorite after leading the way to a 41-24 victory over Smart's Bulldogs in the SEC title game this past Saturday in Atlanta.

It was the second straight year Alabama had the offensive and defensive players of the year for the AP honors, with Heisman-winning wide receiver DeVonta Smith and cornerback Patrick Surtain taking the awards in 2020.

some text
AP file photo by Vasha Hunt / Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. is the SEC's defensive player of the year in separate votes by coaches and media.

All-SEC teams as selected by coaches were announced Tuesday, but the coaches' votes for individual honors were revealed Wednesday, with Alabama's Young and Anderson and Georgia's Smart receiving the same honors from that group as from the AP's 14-member panel. Bowers received similar league recognition as the coaches' freshman of the year, with Williams and Tennessee's Velus Jones Jr. sharing the special teams player of the year award and Kentucky offensive lineman Darian Kinnard the league's Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner.

The SEC's release noted Badie was honored as the league's scholar-athlete of the year before last Saturday's title game in Atlanta.

some text
AP file photo by Phelan M. Ebenhack / Georgia's Kirby Smart is the SEC's football coach of the year in separate votes by coaches and media.


The 2021 AP All-SEC football team, as selected by a panel of 14 sports writers and broadcasters who regularly cover the league, with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown listed ("u-" denotes unanimous selection):



QB — Bryce Young, Alabama, 6-0, 194, So., Pasadena, California

RB — u-Tyler Badie, Missouri, 5-8, 194, Sr., New Orleans

RB — Chris Rodriguez, Kentucky, 5-11, 224, Jr., McDonough, Georgia

OL — Darian Kinnard, Kentucky, 6-5, 345, Sr., Knoxville

OL — Charles Cross, Mississippi State, 6-5, 310, R-So., Laurel, Mississippi

OL — Kenyon Green, Texas A&M, 6-4, 325, Jr., Humble, Texas

OL — Evan Neal, Alabama, 6-7, 360, Jr., Okeechobee, Florida

C — Michael Maietti, Missouri, 6-1, 290, Grad., West Orange, N.J.

TE — Brock Bowers, Georgia, 6-4, 230, Fr., Napa, California.

WR — u-Jameson Williams, Alabama, 6-1, 175, Jr., St. Louis, Missouri

WR — Treylon Burks, Arkansas, 6-3, 225, Jr., Warren, Arkansas

K — Harrison Mevis, Missouri, 5-11, 236, So., Warsaw, Indiana

AP — Velus Jones, Tennessee, 6-0, 200, Sr., Saraland, Alabama


DE — Sam Williams, Ole Miss, 6-4, 265, Sr., Montgomery, Alabama

DE — Josh Paschal, Kentucky, 6-3, 278, Sr., Prince George's County, Maryland

DT — DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M, 6-4, 290, Jr., San Antonio, Texas

DT — Jordan Davis, Georgia, 6-6, 340, Sr., Charlotte, North Carolina

LB — u-Will Anderson, Alabama, 6-4, 243, So., Hampton, Georgia

LB — Nakobe Dean, Georgia, 6-0, 225, Jr., Horn Lake, Mississippi

LB — Damone Clark, LSU, 6-3, 240, Sr., Baton Rouge

DB — Roger McCreary, Auburn, 6-0, 190, Sr., Mobile, Alabama

DB — Lewis Cine, Georgia, 6-1, 200, Jr., Cedar Hill, Texas

DB — Jaylan Foster, South Carolina, 5-10, 195, Sr., Duncan, South Carolina

DB — Jordan Battle, Alabama, 6-1, 210, Jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

P — Nik Constantinou, Texas A&M, 6-3, 230, So., Melbourne, Australia

SEC offensive player of year — Bryce Young, QB, Alabama

SEC defensive player of year — Will Anderson, LB, Alabama

SEC coach of year — Kirby Smart, Georgia

SEC newcomer of year — Brock Browers, TE, Georgia



QB — Matt Corral, Ole Miss, 6-2, 205, Jr., Ventura, California

RB — Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M, 6-1, 215, Jr., Spring, Texas

RB — Brian Robinson, Alabama, 6-0, 204, Sr., Tuscaloosa, Alabama

OL — Jamaree Salyer, Georgia, 6-4, 325, Sr., Atlanta

OL — Layden Robinson, Texas A&M, 6-4, 320, So., Manuel, Texas

OL — Justin Shaffer, Georgia, 6-4, 330, Sr., Ellenwood, Georgia

OL —Cade Mays, Tennessee, 6-6, 325, Knoxville

C — Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas, 6-4, 310, Jr., Tulsa, Oklahoma

TE — Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M, 6-5, 255, Jr., Dickinson, Texas

WR — Wan'Dale Robinson, Kentucky, 5-11, 185, Jr., Frankfort, Kentucky

WR — John Metchie III, Alabama, 6-0, 195, Jr., Brampton, Canada

PK — Cade York, LSU, 6-1, 198, Jr., McKinney, Texas


DE — Derick Hall, Auburn, 6-3, 251, Jr., Gulfport, Mississippi

DE — Tyree Johnson, Texas A&M, 6-4, 240, Sr., Washington, D.C.

DT — Devonte Wyatt, Georgia, 6-3, 315, Sr., Decatur, Georgia

DT — Neal Farrell Jr., LSU, 6-4, 325, Grad., Mobile, Alabama

LB — Channing Tindall, Georgia, 6-2, 230, Sr., Columbia, South Carolina

LB — Zakoby McClain, Auburn, 6-0, 219, Sr., Valdosta, Georgia

LB — Bumper Pool, Arkansas, 6-2, 230, Sr., Lucas, Texas

DB — Derion Kendrick, Georgia, 6-0, 190, Sr., Rock Hill, South Carolina

DB—Cam Smith, South Carolina, 6-1, 187, So., Blythewood, South Carolina

DB—AJ Finley, Ole Miss, 6-2, 210, Jr., Mobile, Alabama

DB—Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M, 6-3, 200, So., East St. Louis, Illinois

P— Jake Camarda, Georgia, 6-2, 180, Sr., Norcross, Georgia

AP — Jameson Williams, Alabama, 6-2, 189, Jr., St. Louis, Missouri

AP All-SEC voting panel: Parrish Alford, Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal; Travis Brown, Bryan-College Station Eagle; John Clay, Lexington Herald Leader; Gentry Estes, The Tennessean; Garland Gillen, Fox 8 (WVUE-TV), New Orleans; Jordan Hill, Opelika-Auburn News; Nick Kelly, The Tuscaloosa News; David Matter, St. Louis Post Dispatch; Tom Murphy, The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette; Ben Portnoy, The State, Columbia, S.C.; Adam Sparks, Knoxville News-Sentinel; Nick Suss, The Clarion Ledger; Edgar Thompson, The Orlando Sentinel; Marc Weiszer, Athens Banner-Herald.